We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely well appointed townhouse in central...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 4 Galmanhoe Mews

kitchen/dining
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
kitchen/dining
entrance hallway lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
kitchen/dining
entrance hallway
lounge
exterior
ensuite bedroom
house bathroom
ground floor plan
first floor plan
second floor plan
bedroom first floor
single bedroom
ensuite
ground floor bedroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Riverside walkway
Enter a caption for your photo
York Minster-5 minutes walk
York Railway Station - just 5-10minutes walk
The Museum Gardens
Museum Gardens- over the road
River Walkway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
The_Kneeb...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely well appointed townhouse in central location”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Our family of 5 including three teenagers spent 4 nights in this modern well appointed home in mid July on our 3 week European holiday. The place was our favourite stay during our holiday. It was spacious and extremely well appointed with everything you could ask for. The townhouse is in a great location within easy walking distance of central York. Bev was a delight to liase with and was very helpful with all our emails. The only slight issue was that we stayed during a very uncharacteristic heat wave and the upstairs bedrooms were very uncomfortable due to poor ventilation and no fans.
We would have no hesitation recommending this place to friends and family and would love to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern spacious home in great location
Liked least: Top rooms didn't handle heat very well
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moe70611
Gibraltar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent central location in York”
Reviewed 17 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We went to York for our son's university graduation and wanted a central location where we could easily walk to places. The house is next to the beautiful museum gardens and river walk and to all central York amenities. The house is very modern and well equipped although we could have done with some cooling fans in the middle of a heat wave ......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: House was too warm as it was in the sun all day and all windows closed when we arrived
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Llanfairfechan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay!”
Reviewed 2 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Myself and 5 friends stayed at 4 Galmanhoe Mews for a long weekend in York. I can't recommend it highly enough! From the start Bev got back to me promptly, with any questions i had (there were numerous). Nothing was too much trouble. We were fortunate that there was no-one vacating on our arrival date, so we were able to arrive earlier than the 4pm check-in time. The property was beautiful and very high-end. It was also very well equipped. We were impressed with the thoughtful extras, such as a welcome hamper and bottle of fizz chilling in the fridge. We were also impressed with fluffy robes and complimentary cosmetics left out for us. It gave a real pampered feel to the weekend. I have read some of the criticisms left by other reviewers. In terms of the hot water/heating system. We were a group of 6 girls and we all had adequate water to shower twice daily. Only on one occasion did the water turn luke warm, but this was due to a couple of the girls having had a soak in the bath, so we just let it re-heat for half an hour extra and the problem was solved! I would agree with the other reviewer who commented that the instructions for the heating system were very complex and they could do with being simplified. However it wasn't an issue for us, as the house was lovely and warm without the heating on. Also the social club at the back of the property wasn't a problem either, as any noise stopped by midnight but to be honest there wasn't a great deal of noise coming from there anyway! The location of the accommodation was ideal! Very close to the river and gardens and the minster. Only about 5 mins walk. We ended up having a takeaway on one of the nights rather than a meal at a restaurant just because the house was so comfortable and beautiful that we didn't want to leave it! Overall I would definitely return to this property. I can't rate it highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gorgeous kitchen
Liked least: The complex heating/water instructions
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peopleoft...
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfort in the Middle of the Action....”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

4 Galmanhoe Mews offers supreme upscale comfort, close proximity to all sights, shopping, restaurants and pubs.

With this property, following a long day(s) of sight seeing, you come back to a property that is so comfortable you feel as though your in a luxury home.

From the second floor living room to the gourmet kitchen to outstanding bathrooms this house is outstanding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and Proximity to York.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElvisPhis...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay in York”
Reviewed 11 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Stayed here over a long weekend with family, house is very well equipped and laid out.
Felt very comfortable, was like a home from home, so much so that we stayed in to cook and eat rather than go out on a couple of the nights of our stay. DVD's library, Games, TV and Wifi were all excellent.
There were some very nice goodies left, (thank you) i've stayed in some 5 * hotels which offered less, and some nice touches like tablets for the dishwasher.
Having read a previous review about the water, we had as a family of 7 no problem whats so ever.
Location is superb as is the parking for two cars. The only downside is there's a social club at the back, where the members come out to smoke and are quite rowdy, this spoilt what would be otherwise an A* perfect venue, however i shall return for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: The Noise from the social club out back
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing