We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
Ferry Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ferry Lounge
3 Bedroom Private Garden The Stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Ferry Lounge
3 Bedroom Private Garden
The Stove
Courtyard Garden
Master Bedroom
3 Bedroom Cottages
Open lounge and dining area
River Ouse at Acaster Malbis
York Minster
York Minster at night
The shambles in York
Christmas in York
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David N
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Highly recommend these cottages to stay as a base to explore York and surrounds. The hosts were exceptional and Allison and her husband were so friendly and welcoming.. I will definately return the next time i visit the area..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2016
Hello David,
Many thanks for your kind review.
It was good to meet you and we look forward to welcoming you at Chestnut Farm again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KittycatA...
Almeria Spain
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely short break”
Reviewed 29 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed for 4 nights while visiting our daughter, who lives in York city centre, perfect location for us, just a 10 min drive to the city, but out in the country side, lovely cottage, great location, and great host,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Chestnut Farm in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
g0gs11uk
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We rented the Cowper Cottage which is a 2 bedroom (Double + Twin rooms)Alison was very welcoming on our arrival and took the time to show us how to work the heating. The setting of the cottage we stayed is is in a courtyard with ample parking at the side. The cottages are set seperate to the holiday caravans but as we stayed off season we couldn't comment on how busy the site gets.
Alison directed us to a couple of pubs in the next village as we couldn't walk to the Ship Inn as the river road entrance was flooded. They were great places to eat out.
Thanks Alison

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very quiet cosy setting
Liked least: Squeeky floorboards
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2015
Many thanks for your kind words.
Hope to welcome you again at Chestnut Farm at some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pieter M
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant people, good cottage”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in Ings cottage and were perfectly satisfied. Kitchen was well equiped, communal area was comfortable and cosy. Shower isn't great, but everything was clean and the beds were good. The owners are exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
8478
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Ok this place is a hidden gem not too far away from York city centre. We stayed for a 50th birthday party and stayed all weekend. Great site and fantastic host, very friendly caught myself popping in for a chat. The ship inn (pub) is a 5 minute walk away very handy. Cottages well equipped even down to egg cups and toast rack . The sun shone so we opened the french doors onto the central outside seating area. Top tip take your own towels

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing