We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makes Greggs look like Masterchef. ”
Review of The York Roast Co.

The York Roast Co.
Ranked #449 of 975 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Always a queue to keep the tourists curious, and ultimately to disappointment them with a terrible impersonation of one of Yorkshire’s finest recipes.

We gave it a go as it was a bit early and there were only about 5 customers before us. Now we know that the reason there is a queue outside these places is because the staff and setup is the most ineffective and inefficient I’ve ever seen. They individually trip over each other, taking a stupid amount of time to prepare each order, which are virtually identical - a pre-made Yorkshire pudding with some meat, overdone veg and boring tasteless gravy. It should take 2 mins per customer, but they just don’t get it.

DEAR GOD GUYS, follow in the footsteps of subway’s service model, and also, stop wheeling those crappy aunt-Bessie style tasteless shoe soles you call Yorkshire puddings across town in plastic bags on trolleys. It looks so trampy.

Anyways.... It took 50 minutes to get this mass produced rubbish which yep, I left most of and went to grab a coffee instead.

Heed this advice - Go to a pub, a carvery, anywhere but here It is really bad and makes Greggs food look and taste like Masterchef finalists.

Also, just listen whilst you queue. Odds are you’ll hear a local walk by joking about the place and putting those poor souls in the queue.

Don’t do it people. The queue is there because they are REALLY slow, and not because it is good quality or popular with anyone who has decent taste buds.

Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYRC-HO, Operations Manager at The York Roast Co., responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello Angela,

Thank you for your feedback following your visit. I'm very sorry to hear you didn't have a postive experience and I would like to investigate your comments so we can learn from them in the future, improve our daily operations and hopefully make amends for this visit. Would you please send your contact details to contact@theyorkroastco.com to enable me to speak with you directly.

Bests regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 728 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Missed out on yorkshire pudding wrap around december time due to queues. On next visit to york decided def going to try one, they are open til about 1am so we went in after a theatre visit bout 1130pm, much better than expected. i had turkey,veg, gravy passed on stuffing and sauces. was def worth trying and i would get one again. staff good quick service but quite small inside.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYRC-HO, Operations Assistant at The York Roast Co., responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi Beni1 thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we're happy to hear you enjoyed our meal and hope you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Lovely little takeaway shop with a cafe upstairs. We had the YorkyPud Wrap with turkey, stuffing, gravy, vegetables (and horseradish sauce) and it was lovely. You could have whatever meat and sauce combination you wanted. We ate upstairs in the cafe which was clean and bright.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYRC-HO, Operations Assistant at The York Roast Co., responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi Trish, we're happy to hear you enjoyed your wrap, thanks for taking the time to leave us some feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

After seeing Facebook videos of Yorkshire pudding wraps we had to try it! We were not disappointed! I had the beef Yorkshire wrap filled with carrots, beans, stuffing and gravy, it was fabulous! We were not expecting there to be a seating area so that was a great bonus!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JPW130596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYRC-HO, Operations Assistant at The York Roast Co., responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi JPW130596 thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we're thrilled to hear you're a fan of our Yorky Pud Wrap!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We ended up visiting here twice over our weekend stay in york. Very friendly staff who do their very best to ensure the long queues go down as quickly as they can! This type of fast food is just up our street and between us we tried all of the meats in the yorkie wraps, with slaw/veg/stuffing/potatoes/sauce/gravy inside. Absolutely yummy! Wish we had one in our hometown, but we would be in there all the time!

Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TYRC-HO, Operations Assistant at The York Roast Co., responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi Emma, it's great to hear that we were worth two visits in one trip! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The York Roast Co. also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The York Roast Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing