We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accomodation, perfect location.”

Review of Minster Bells

The Entrance Porch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Entrance Porch
Minster Bells is one of five grand Town Houses Spacious Dining Area (Extending table) Leading to the Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
The Entrance Porch
Minster Bells is one of five grand Town Houses
Spacious Dining Area (Extending table) Leading to the Balcony
Modern Fully Equipped Kitchen with Integrated Appliances
Lounge - A large bay window great for watching the world go by (especially for children)
Lounge - with an original Victorian slate fireplace.
Master Bedroom with Period Features
Twin Bedded room
2nd Double Bedroom
3rd Double Bedroom
Single Bedroom
A newly fitted Victorian v Modern bathroom
The Entrance Hall
An array of quaint streets literally on your doorstep
Bootham Bar - entrance to the city walls (at the end of the street)
York Minster - 2 minutes by foot to reach
Take a trip down the River Ouse. Boats have 2 City Centre Boarding points. (Lendal is the closest)
The City Wall is approximately 50 metres away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great accomodation, perfect location.”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My review title says it all really. A lovely and clean 3 storey Victorian property with all the amenities you require. The real beauty with this property, apart from the very reasonable price, is the fact it is so close to the City centre, it is literally a 5 minute walk to York Minster (hence the house name, I guess?). We all enjoyed the property very much and we totally recommend this place to anyone wishing to visit the wonderful city of York.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo C
1 review
“Great place to stay ”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Had a fantastic week in York staying at Minster Bells. Booking was easy and lots of info provided. As two families both with small children we were very grateful for the toys, high chairs, cots beds and so on that were provided.
Recommend for two families as the layout meant each family had a floor each (1st floor- large double bedroom and small twin and a bathroom; 2nd floor - large double bedroom and two small bedrooms and shower room). Worked brilliantly for us. Kids loved exploring the stairs as we don't have upstairs in our houses.
City centre location was fantastic for short walks to most of the attractions. Car parking being provided was great as no car needed in city but took some skill to reverse into garage, quite a tight squeeze!
Only downside to being city centre was the traffic outside. Quite a busy road and when it was so hot we needed windows open at night - not something we are used to (the traffic AND the heat I mean!) However, the sofa in the front window became the favourite spot for our 3 toddlers to gather to spot buses, ambulances and generally people watch - much fun!
Definitely recommend for anyone looking for a city centre stay (unless you struggle with stairs or have an exceptionally wide car!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Janet was so accommodating to us. Great communication and we knew we can call if we needed anything.

Location was great for us and the house was lovely, clean and I wish we could have stayed longer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Dear John
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are pleased that we could accommodate all of your needs. We hope you will visit us again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fantastic location, close to all the sights of York”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Great spot, within short walking distance to York Minster, city walls, sightseeing bus stop and shopping precinct and great coffee across the road on Gillygate. House was spacious, warm and comfortable. We (4 Adults) stayed with 4 children and the house was well equipped with toys, books and puzzles to keep kids entertained, when tired from sightseeing. Gillygate is a busy road, so the noise from traffic was really the only (minor) downside. Would certainly recommend it as a great place to stay when visiting York.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Thank you for visiting and I'm pleased to hear you made full use of the location of Minster Bells to the City Centre and all of it's delights. As Gillygate is so central then it can be somewhat busy. Fortunately, traffic does die down at off peak periods (especially through the night)and the bedrooms all have double glazing and some have secondary glazing too. It would be lovely to welcome you back again - hopefully soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger H
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location! Location! Location!”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A home away from home.
This very spacious house is located perfectly if you want to explore York. Short walking distance to the city and other major attractions and is a fantastic base to return to after an exciting day, or even for a quick break in-between.
The house has a lockup garage for 2 cars, providing maximum security. For a family reunion, 7 in total, each family had their own floor with their own bathroom. The very well equipped kitchen with its large table provided many cosy evenings together. For those that required a bit of peace and quite they could retreat to the comfortable lounge where a selection of games and books were available as well as a TV. For the teenagers there was WiFi!
Janet, the owner, was always helpful and quick to respond to any question we had.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Dear Roger. It was lovely having you and your family to stay and I am pleased to hear that everyone's needs were catered for. I hope you can return again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing