We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Castle Howard
from USD 535.34
More Info
from USD 70.47
More Info
Reviews (3,564)
Filter reviews
3,564 results
Traveller rating
2,167
867
317
141
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,167
867
317
141
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brideshead revisited stately home garden centre rose garden farm shop atlas fountain adventure playground boat house boathouse cafe christmas decorations beautiful house well worth a visit sunny day entrance fee value for money chatsworth mausoleum
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 3,564 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2019 via mobile

This is a great castle to visit and the staff are really good and very knowledgeable. There is plenty to see and all the rooms are well presented. On our visit there were a huge amount of beautiful fresh flowers bringing the rooms to life. Even the rooms which were smoke damaged years ago are still interesting to see.
We took a guided walk around the walled garden with Greta as the host and it was very informative even if there were few flowers in the gardens as it was early spring.
The statues and woods were excellent. A really good day out.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Brenda010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 April 2019 via mobile

We arrived here about 3,30 and had no choice but to do the tour of the house.simply brilliant .so informative and took about 45 mins. Grounds are also wonderful and you can explore at leisure. Again to see it all will take time and I would allow at least 2 hours here

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 April 2019

Yes,,the entry to this magnificent house and gardens is expensive, especially when compared to National Trust and English Heritage properties( as members of both, we get in for free), but the sheer overwhelming splendour of the place- the house and gardens - is worth it. The guides were excellent, and there was so much to take in. Sheer opulence. But the coffee we had at the cafe was the worst we have had in England!!

Date of experience: April 2019
1  Thank Gregory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 April 2019 via mobile

Pre booked our tickets online and collected them on arrival.
Easter, so was able to do the Easter egg hunt. Good fun following the trail through the woods finding the eggs and solving the questions, all easy sums. Received a chocolate treat when finished.
Adventure playground lots of fun for all ages. The self guided tour around the house was amazing. Lots of staff on hand in most rooms to answer questions. Very knowledgeable and approachable.
Gardens are kept beautiful and you can see a lot of hard work goes into them. Although fairly local to here, first time visiting.....will not be the last.

Thank sange_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 April 2019 via mobile

Take a gulp and fork out the entrance fee and then forget the bill and enjoy. It is a pity these buildings are not made a bit cheaper for perhaps locals, or those on a low income because I'm sure a lot of people never see how the aristocracy lived. Nevertheless we luckily have, and its fascinating and mind-boggling how people still live in these buildings.
The grounds needed a couple of weeks or more for the best if the flowers perhaps, but still beautiful.
There's a decent kids playground at the bottom of the hill that looks out over stunning views. I would recommend Howard Castle if you can afford a family ticket for children and couples. The cafe has excellent food especially the salads.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank lisajhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews