We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Castle Howard
from USD 535.34
More Info
from USD 70.47
More Info
Reviews (3,564)
Filter reviews
3,564 results
Traveller rating
2,167
867
317
141
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,167
867
317
141
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brideshead revisited stately home garden centre rose garden farm shop atlas fountain adventure playground boat house boathouse cafe christmas decorations beautiful house well worth a visit sunny day entrance fee value for money chatsworth mausoleum
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,607 - 1,612 of 3,564 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Enjoyable and interesting historic place to visit. Garden and grounds lovely. Local produce on sale appeared to be of good quality. Didn't buy any perishables as had long drive home. Used courtyard cafe and service was good. Only had tea and scones but very nice.
Probably worth a second visit.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We were really looking forward to visiting Castle Howard and drove a long way to do so. Absolutely astonishing price to get in but we thought oh well it must be really good. What a disappointment it turned out to be, there was so little to see in the castle, such a small amount of it is accessible to the public we couldn't believe what they charged £18 each, I actually thought that if it was half the price I would still be disappointed.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank Harleyboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2016

The experience starts en-route when you approach the castle through the long road and archways, stunningly beautiful. During our 3-hour visit we covered the Castle, the adventure playground and the surrounding gardens. The Castle is beautiful and rich in history, ask the guides present for more information on the various rooms. The fountain, gardens, vast landscape and view of the lake is exquisite.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank LetsGetAway123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Wonderful day out
Excellent gardens
Food excellent and tasty
Lots to do and see both inside and out all day

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Menumore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Castle Howard is a fun day trip with children.

There is always plenty going on in the summer hols laid on for free including face painting and crafts.

The Kelly car runs in the summer and picks you up at the entrance and drives you via the house to the adventure play ground and the Boathouse.

The house is always interesting and the children's quiz that you can pick up at the entrance keeps them entertained so adults can have a good luck around.

The adventure playground is safe and fun with lots to do and a lovely picnic area near the lake. There is an ice-cream shop right in the park and the Boathouse serves lovely food if you haven't brought a picnic.

The walks around the grounds are superb and can help burn off any energy left after the adventure playground.

I would recommend buying the annual pass - for a family of 5 it was £100 (prices may have gone up) but you get a discount with your membership card on everything you buy including coffees, ice creams and in the farm shops. So it is brilliant value even without the bonus of the discount.

They are also part of Historic Houses so if you have that membership you can use it here as well.

We visit often - the children never tire of it and neither do we.

I always stock up at the farm shop as it has an amazing butcher shop!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank sunandsand204
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews