We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alhambra Court Hotel
Nearby Hotels
USD 165*
USD 147*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
USD 156*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Noir(Clifton)
USD 129*
USD 124*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
USD 112*
USD 100*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 132*
USD 106*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 216*
USD 180*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel(Fulford)(Great Value!)
USD 162*
USD 137*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
USD 103*
USD 100*
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 322*
USD 212*
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 140*
USD 108*
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
268
224
50
15
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
268
224
50
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrecar parkmuseum gardensgood sizequiet cul de sactop floortraditional hotelan evening mealfree parkinglovely hotelquiet streetshort walkrailway linebootham barfull englishyork minsterfour poster bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
497 - 502 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Another fabulous week spent in York , in a lovely warm, very friendly hotel. The staff are more like friends and family. My friend and I even receive an annual Christmas card from them. The rooms are really warm and comfortable. The choice and quality of food great. We are already booked again for next year.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent. I would stay in any of them, they have single,double , twin and a family room.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank funtome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The hotel is more like a big bnb. I'd recommend it if you are a retired couple looking for somewhere cosy within walking distance of the centre of York. If you're looking for amore modern and/or romantic hotel, then perhaps find somewhere else.

I stayed in a ground floor room overlooking the side of the street. The room itself was neutrally decorated, with a small flatscreen tv, usual tea making facilities, comfortable double bed. There is free wifi, which is great. The ensuite bathroom however was really tired - shower in the bath with peeling grouting and a mouldy shower curtain. As someone's said earlier, these could be easily fixed cheaply.

I'm a light sleeper so I didn't get a restful night because the walls are paper thin. When I first arrived the next door room had their tv on, and the sound was crystal clear in my room! Even though they weren't talking loudly, I could hear their every word. The plumbing is also quite noisy.

The rest of the hotel is quite chintzy - lots of nice old furniture but also lots of plastic flowers, ornaments and glassware in cupboards everywhere. In short, it felt a little bit 1980s, which I think the retired couples who were the main guests of the hotel appreciated, but it was a little much for me. There is a bar and a restaurant downstairs, which is where breakfast is also served. This again felt quite old-fashioned in its decor. When at the bottom of the stairs, it was a bit disconcerting to see a sign saying 'guests must use the anti-bacterial handwash before entering the bar and restaurant' next to a bottle of the stuff. I guess they'd put it there during the swine flu outbreak but then left it there by inertia.

breakfast was fine. Usual choice of cereals, fruit juice, etc. I didn't have the cooked breakfast which was cooked to order. The service seemed very quick. Oddly there didn't seem to be jam just honey and marmalade. the marmalade was in pots on the tables but I didn't have any of mine because it had already been used by another guest (there was a smear of butter on it).

All in all, this is an o.k. hotel, and is in a good location (quiet cul de sac near the main centre of York), but I wouldn't stay here for more than a night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTwydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

hello after returning home after a few days at the alhambra court i felt i had to write a few words. They put us in the most wornout room i have ever stayed in holes in the carpet the curtains didnt pull together the shower was covered in green mould and the most annoying thing was the noisiest extractor fan in the world which ran for 30 minutes after you turned the light out and sounded like an old diesel engine. The food was below average and the woman on reception wasn't the slightest bit interested. On the plus side apart from being home now was that it is in a great location

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

just got back from 3 nights and have to say it was faultless,staff were great,breakfast was excellent, did not eat here in the evening as there is plenty of places in york but heard other guests say it was excellent, it is also in a great location with great parking facilities,this was our 3rd time in york and our best stay yet,next time we will look here first

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This hotel is located very near to the city centre, so it's only a 5 minute stroll to York Minster or the park. It's also situated in a cauldersac, so there is no through traffic during the day or evening, making it very quiet. However, there is a train track which runs directly behind the car park just to the rear of the hotel, but it doesnt disturb you at all surprisingly! What did though, was the constant banging sound from the room above us like they were jumping on and off a trampoline til 2am! Annoying!

We were in room 23 situated on the first/ground floor facing the car park/train track. The weather was very hot during our stay but because the lace curtain giving privacy to the room was pinned to the window itself so we couldn't open the window because guests and staff coming and going from the car park could literally see straight in. We had 3 large windows in the room, but only one opened. We couldn't open the bathroom window.

The room was comfortable with two single beds put together even though we booked a 'double' room, a flat screen tv, coffee making facilities.
The staff were very friendly both in the restaurant/bar and reception. The cooked breakfast was basic but very nice, though there were cereals and toast available too. We booked for an evening meal and ordered the spicy chicken, followed by lemon meringue cheesecake, it was fantastic and very reasonably priced!

Overall we enjoyed our stay, it was comfortable and clean, but a little pricey for a 2 star I think. We want to visit York again for the Festival of Angels, however, we would probably book to stay in a different hotel as the price for our family would be £300 for the weekend in December at the Alhambra, where as other hotels with 4+ star ratings (even the Hilton) were less than £200!!! Go figure!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toria1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews