We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant and comfortable place to stay, close to York city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alhambra Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A pleasant and comfortable place to stay, close to York city centre”
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed 4 nights over the weekend of the St. Nicholas Fayre, when rooms in York were at a premium. Overall, we were pleased with this hotel: it's a pleasant and comfortable place close to the City Centre. If tripadvisor offered the option, we'd have rated it "good", since it is above average for a 2-star hotel. Our room on the top floor was clean and good-sized, as was the bathroom. It was very cold on arrival, the window having been left open, but the receptionist responded very quickly and even bled the radiators. However, they seem to have an option to turn up the heating even more since the room got very hot indeed on the Saturday night (when the hotel was totally full) much hotter than on the other 3 nights.
We ate one evening meal in the restaurant and found the food average but both the food and the wines are relatively cheap. Breakfasts were variable: usually good but there is a tendency sometimes to pre-prepare too much so you can end up with congealed, even cold, eggs and leathery bacon. If you tell them about it they'll do the necessary.
Staff are very friendly and willing to please. At £93 per room B&B, it's probably high end for a 2-star on cost but its closeness to the centre makes up for that.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank btbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    190
    43
    13
    4
See reviews for
65
273
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Another fabulous week spent in York , in a lovely warm, very friendly hotel. The staff are more like friends and family. My friend and I even receive an annual Christmas card from them. The rooms are really warm and comfortable. The choice and quality of food great. We are already booked again for next year.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent. I would stay in any of them, they have single,double , twin and a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funtome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

The hotel is more like a big bnb. I'd recommend it if you are a retired couple looking for somewhere cosy within walking distance of the centre of York. If you're looking for amore modern and/or romantic hotel, then perhaps find somewhere else.

I stayed in a ground floor room overlooking the side of the street. The room itself was neutrally decorated, with a small flatscreen tv, usual tea making facilities, comfortable double bed. There is free wifi, which is great. The ensuite bathroom however was really tired - shower in the bath with peeling grouting and a mouldy shower curtain. As someone's said earlier, these could be easily fixed cheaply.

I'm a light sleeper so I didn't get a restful night because the walls are paper thin. When I first arrived the next door room had their tv on, and the sound was crystal clear in my room! Even though they weren't talking loudly, I could hear their every word. The plumbing is also quite noisy.

The rest of the hotel is quite chintzy - lots of nice old furniture but also lots of plastic flowers, ornaments and glassware in cupboards everywhere. In short, it felt a little bit 1980s, which I think the retired couples who were the main guests of the hotel appreciated, but it was a little much for me. There is a bar and a restaurant downstairs, which is where breakfast is also served. This again felt quite old-fashioned in its decor. When at the bottom of the stairs, it was a bit disconcerting to see a sign saying 'guests must use the anti-bacterial handwash before entering the bar and restaurant' next to a bottle of the stuff. I guess they'd put it there during the swine flu outbreak but then left it there by inertia.

breakfast was fine. Usual choice of cereals, fruit juice, etc. I didn't have the cooked breakfast which was cooked to order. The service seemed very quick. Oddly there didn't seem to be jam just honey and marmalade. the marmalade was in pots on the tables but I didn't have any of mine because it had already been used by another guest (there was a smear of butter on it).

All in all, this is an o.k. hotel, and is in a good location (quiet cul de sac near the main centre of York), but I wouldn't stay here for more than a night.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTwydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

hello after returning home after a few days at the alhambra court i felt i had to write a few words. They put us in the most wornout room i have ever stayed in holes in the carpet the curtains didnt pull together the shower was covered in green mould and the most annoying thing was the noisiest extractor fan in the world which ran for 30 minutes after you turned the light out and sounded like an old diesel engine. The food was below average and the woman on reception wasn't the slightest bit interested. On the plus side apart from being home now was that it is in a great location

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jason d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

just got back from 3 nights and have to say it was faultless,staff were great,breakfast was excellent, did not eat here in the evening as there is plenty of places in york but heard other guests say it was excellent, it is also in a great location with great parking facilities,this was our 3rd time in york and our best stay yet,next time we will look here first

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.3 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.6 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
B+B York
B+B York
#3 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.4 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.2 km away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Court Hotel

Property: Alhambra Court Hotel
Address: 31 St. Marys, York YO30 7DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
#17 Romantic Hotel in York
Price range (per night): $113 - $180
Hotel Class:4 star — Alhambra Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Alhambra Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alhambra Court York
Hotel Alhambra Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing