We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middlethorpe is the ultimate, English countryside manor house- truly romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Anyone wanting a romantic weekend get-away in the English countryside should seriously consider staying at the Middlethorpe Hall & Spa in York. It was peaceful, romantic and they had a fantastic wine list! We stayed in the Sir Henry Thompson room in the courtyard which was adorable. Dinner in the main house was a delight and service all weekend was five-star. We rented a car easily in Cambridge and drove up in about 2.5 hours. And getting to downtown York to shop and dine was less than 7 mins. Great value and I'd definitely stay again- next time in the Spring or Summer so I could spend more time in the gardens.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FBrewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,152 - 1,156 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2010

I stayed here for one night and loved the place, truly special, excellent service.

I cannot wait to return. A lovely retreat. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucyjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

There is one outstanding feature about this hotel, which is the excellent level of service. Let me give you an example. On arrival, my back went into spasm and I was in some discomfort. A porter came out and asked my name. He immediately knew that I was staying for three nights and my room number. In the blink of an eye, all my luggage was transferred to the room. This level of service continued everywhere.....the reception, bar staff, restaurant staff, spa staff, cleaners everyone. It was like stepping back into a bygone age. The level of service throughout the whole establishment is exceptional.
The hotel itself is some two miles outside of York. Tip....the bus stops right outside the hotel and this is much more convenient than taking a car into York, where parking is limited and expensive. There is so much to do in York itself that in three days, we barely scrapped the service. I do recommend a trip to Bettys Tea Rooms and can now understand why there seems to be constant ( fast moving ) queues at all times of the day.
Back to the hotel itself. We had a cottage in the grounds, which was a real home from home. Spotlessly clean, warm and cosy. We only dined in the restaurant one evening. It is not cheap ( table d'hote allowance is £43 ) but it is very good. Breakfast was excellent with an imaginative menu, in addition to the traditional continental and Yorkshire breakfast. The building itself is now part of the National Trust, with excellent gardens etc. However, there is only one star of the show and I salute the owner of this establishment for its superlative levels of service.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelhurstBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Service is great and the building is beautiful, but the rooms are stuffy and feel dated. Literally, as beginning in autumn when the heat is turned on for the hotel it's hard to regulate the temperature in the rooms. If it happens to be a warm night, the rooms become sweltering (there's no a/c to compensate). It's also a few kilometers out of town, which may or may not be disadvantageous. Next time I'll stay at the Cedar Court Grand, which looks as historic but has been modernized at the same time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daoda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

I could not have made a better choice for a surprise weekend away with my partner to celebrate our 25th Engagement Anniversary. From the moment I emailed them, to the time we left, they could not have been more welcoming, accomodating and friendly. They went out of their way to help with the surprise, obviously, he knew we were going away but not where in the country or which hotel. To do this, they "played" along with me in that I suggested to my partner we could look around a National Trust Property as we had arrived too early to book into our hotel. When the porter opened the door for us, I "realised" my mistake but they offered to show us around.. As this was an exceptionally beautiful warm sunny day, once we had walked round the gardens and grounds, we sat outside and enjoyed coffee and biscuits. We went back to the car, drove past the Hotel and I asked him to pull in to take a photograph and then told him this was were we were staying, it was worth every penny to see his face !
However, I then had a wonderful surprise as although I had booked a room in the main house, they had given us a complimentary upgrade to a suite! Then we had a lovely card in our suite from Mr Chartard, the General Manager offering his congratulations and then later on, complimentary glass of pink champange each. The house is absolutely beautiful, the staff the best we have ever come across and the food was exceptional both in the evening and at breakfast. We were made to feel so welcome at all times they made this the weekend of a lifetime. The Spa and pool is lovely and the perfect way to work up an appitite for the evening meal. Food was supberb and definately the best we have ever had (even beat the Four Seasons).
Suite was beautiful, lovely Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries and housekeeping was perfect . We felt as though we were staying in a beautiful old home, not just a hotel, a great atmostphere, beautiful flowers everywhere. Stunning lounge, libary and lovely fires to sit by and have drinks before the meal.
Basically, everything was perfect and not one negative .
This is expensive but you certainly got more than your moneys worth so it wasn't for the stay that we had! I am so glad I chose Middlethorpe Hall and if I could, I would return frequently. If you are considering a stay and reading this review, book it, I promise that you will be extremely glad that you did. You dont just have a weekend away, you have a fantastic experience. Mr Chartard and his staff are to be commended for the way they run the hotel and make guests feel like friends.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hillviewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
3.1 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3 km away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
668 reviews
3 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.6 km away
York Marriott Hotel
2.5 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around York

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
#4 Family Hotel in York
Price Range: $190 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing