We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding. Peaceful fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2015

We only stayed in a standard room, in the courtyard. The room was outstanding, very clean in fact immaculate.
On arrival the service from the reception team made our first impressions set the standard.
The whole team throughout our stay were continually one step ahead of our wishes and thoughts.
The spa was lovely and relaxing.
The setting blows you away.
There is a bus stop next to the hotel if you wish to go to York, which at £7.20 return is cheaper than an hours parking in York and allows you to enjoy a relaxing drink in the city.
Luccias Italian is worth a trip too. Very good price/service/food

Room Tip: Don't think you could go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Nic K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 517 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2015

Lovely old building and gardens, but expensive. Good food, but lack of tea making facility means you are reliant on room service. We had an awful pot tea which was colds hen it arrived, despite this, we did have a pleasant Stay. Bedroom quite small and in the annexe which meant we had to walk outside to access the main building, which was chilly.

Room Tip: Annexe small and outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattyandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

We stayed one night in a Courtyard room while visiting York. The hotel feels very grand and old fashioned. The double room was well decorated in what I would call 1950s garden room style, room service was speedy and the included breakfast was very good. Wifi was (surprisingly) pretty good.

The staff were all very friendly and were happy to give advice about places to see in our short visit.

Really beautiful setting and a nice, quiet place to relax after the noise and crowds in York.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeannehc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Stayed over Valentine weekend. Hotel is a beautiful property in a lovely setting about 2 miles outside York
We stayed in one of the courtyard rooms which was spacious, beautifully decorated and furnished and very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was of the highest quality and the service, across the board, was quite simply superb. All the staff were friendly, professional and courteous at all times and could not be faulted in any way whatsoever. I cannot recall seeing so many staff for the number of guests in any other hotel.
The only reason I have not given the hotel an "excellent" rating is because the spa whilst adequate, does not, in my view, live up to the standard of the rest of the hotel facilities. However we only used the pool/sauna and steam room (the hot tub was out of order) so I cannot comment on the quality of the spa services or fitness suite.
My only other comment relates to the cost of the drinks which I found to be extremely expensive. Notwithstanding this it is an excellent hotel and I would certainly recommend it, although be mindful that such quality comes at a price.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baggieboy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2015

40 years ago this was a nightclub complex where my wife-to-be and I had many good nights out. Now it's a lovely atmospheric property with period lounge and dining areas. The service is excellent and the menu unusual but delicious. It's still our favourite place for special occasions.

  • Stayed: February 2015
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Borntobewide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
3.1 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
2.4 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
3 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#12 of 47 in York
1,573 reviews
3 km away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
697 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
Price Range: $202 - $602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing