We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,454)
Filter reviews
1,454 results
Traveller rating
1,104
258
65
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,104
258
65
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house drawing room national trust downton abbey early morning tea country house stately home public rooms on arrival steam room relaxing break yorkshire breakfast road noise birthday treat wonderful hotel york racecourse beautiful building
Filter
Updating list...
1,107 - 1,112 of 1,454 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2012

An imposing hotel on the outside, we were not disappointed within. Beautifully furnished in period style in the public rooms and the bedrooms. Superb service all round - the staff were all professional and efficient without exception. We were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded from a courtyard room to a suite, and it was beautiful. Very few hotels still have a turn down service, but this one does. We has Sunday dinner on arrival and it was excellent. Breakfast was also faultless. Although 2 miles outside of York, there is a bus stop yards from the hotel. A taxi cost around £6. The spa was restful and pleasant, with a nice pool and jacuzzi. Although it was cold when we stayed, we had a walk around the extensive gardens and lake and, in better weather, it would be superb. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Henry Thompson suite (free upgrade) and it was beautiful.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheekyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Celebrated my husband 40th birthday here. We live close to York and as we knew the weather was going to be quite bad/snowing we didn't want to risk travelling too far from home.
I had heard in the past how nice this hotel was so I thought it would be a good opportunity to stay there and I am so glad we did.
From the initial check in (we were early but the room was ready) to the final check out we were treated so well. The staff are very courteous and their service to us seemed very natural.
We stayed in the main house and it felt like we were staying in a stately home - lovely.
Breakfast was good with heaps to choose from. Would definately go back and recommend it to all.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8 - the views (albeit snow everywhere) were fab. Room was quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed here with my husband and friends for a weekend beak. Beautiful hotel with charming rooms and attention to detail. We stayed in one of the main house hotel rooms but the courtyard rooms are lovely too and styled with the same decadence. The hotel itself is very clean and bedrooms are extremely comfortable. Leisure facilities - a large pool, whirlpool bath, sauna and steam room are well worth a visit during your stay. The Beauty Spa gets booked up quickly so book early to avoid disappointment. Food is of a high standard with attentive staff, although you never feel as though they are there. We ate at the hotel on the first evening and went out to a local restaurant the following evening. A great base for exploring the surrounding area or just enjoying a relaxing break. Could not recommend this enough! Shop around for hotel deals.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gemstonetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I've stayed at Middlethorpe Hall twice now and enjoyed the spa facilities and fabulous restaurant several times. The first time we stayed, we enjoyed one of the suites away from the main house and the second a double room in the main house. Both were gorgeous and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who would enjoy a truly luxury, high end, quintessentially English hotel. Whilst the rooms are lovely, it's the general ambiance of the place that gives it the x factor. The large and beautifully decorated lounge where you can take afternoon tea or pre and post dinner drinks is so classic and refined; the whole dining experience is worthy of any special occasion and the orangery (where you're served breakfast) and grounds are stunning in any season. It's the kind of place that you want to run away to to write your novel in the dead of winter but it's also an ideal base for exploring York and its surrounding attractions.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Popstar23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Excelent service, nothing too much trouble for the staff. Great food, a good location, will stay again

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews