We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“90th Birthday Sunday Luncheon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We booked the Pineapple Room to seat 16 to celebrate a family member’s 90th Birthday.

Upon arrival we were welcomed and seated in the very comfortable library for drinks. The Pineapple Room in which we dined was perfect for the occasion, with a single large table to accommodate all, laid to high standards.

Food was from the 3 course Sunday luncheon menu. The quality of the food and clear attention to menu detail was far better than could have been anticipated and represented excellent value for money. Service was excellent. Attentive staff ensured a smooth and unobtrusive service without any flaw. Staff also were more than happy to cater for additional requests for the 90th birthday which included a personalised menu, cake stand etc.

The building itself offers and grand yet homely felling venue for such an event and is far more personable than other similar venues. Could not have been better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank flightlevel444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,029 - 1,033 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2011

It was my husbands 60th birthday and we arranged for a private dinner and overnight stay at Middlethorpe with friends. We had one of the superior rooms in the courtyard and we had stayed in the room before . It was spacious and clean and also warm when we arrived mid afternoon which is not always the case in a hotel and one of my personal hates. The Library was reserved for our party of 8 and we had champagne and canapes in there before a private dinner in the Yellow room. The food was wonderful and the young lady who looked after us throughout the meal was a delight. We returned to the Library for coffee and sweets. We were served breakfast in the Yellow Room the following day and also offered a bucks fizz as it was a special occasion. Thanks to all at Middlethorpe for a really fabulous time.

Room Tip: If you can run to a superior they are really spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandCDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Excellent service and Dinner at Middlethorpe Spa, York, the rooms were lovely and well presented, only one comment coffee making facilities would have been welcome, great spa and pool area all clean and well kept. The staff so friendly and nothing was to much trouble. A great breakfast with endless choice. will definately go there again cant wait.


Jenkins - North Wales

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

On arrival we were greeted by a porter who helped us with our bags, gave us a quick tour of the hotel and then showed us to our room. Our room was in the courtyard part of the hotel, it was a nice room and very clean. There was a tin of homemade shortbread in the room which was a nice extra. The bed and pillows were very comfy. Our evening meal was gorgeous; drinks and food are pricey here but worth it! The food and service were faultless! We were both presently surprised at the high quality of food and service and are surprised this place doesn’t have 3 AA rosettes. Breakfast was also gorgeous! There is a library of DVDs in the hotel and you can take these to your room and watch them which I thought was a nice idea. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a1234a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We visited the hotel on the 18th November for lunch. As we were early, we went into the lounge for drinks and nibblles. Spoilt from the start with a nice glass of chardonnay and a variety of nibbles, which you could certainly make a meal from.
Shown into the dinning room and met by very attentive staff, and throughout our visit, showed us immaculate attention and service.
The meal was superb, and the highlite of this meal was the Scottish Hake with mussels and chorizo. I complemented the waitress, who told the chef. Later the chef came from the kitchen and explained in detail how this meal had been prepared - brilliant.
The cheese board was out of this world.

This was one of the most relaxing, delicious meals that we have had - well done to everybody at Middlethorpe Hall.

The hotel has been tastefully preserved by The National Trust, and is a credit to the staff who run it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miles01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
3.1 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
3 km away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
675 reviews
3 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.6 km away
York Marriott Hotel
2.5 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middlethorpe Hall & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middlethorpe Hall & Spa

Address: Bishopthorpe Road, York YO23 2GA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in York
#1 Luxury Hotel in York
#1 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Business Hotel in York
Price Range: $183 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Middlethorpe Hall & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now part of the National Trust - all profits donated to the charity. Overlooking York Racecourse, Middlethorpe Hall is close to the city of York yet enjoys 20 acres of its own peaceful gardens and parkland. It has an award-winning restaurant, the Oak Dining Room, and a heavenly spa with swimming pool. Decorated in traditional country house style, Middlethorpe is furnished with antiques and fine paintings consistent with the period of the house. Beautifully appointed bedrooms are located in the main house and the 18th-century courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Middlethorpe Hall & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Middlethorpe Hall Hotel York
Middlethorpe Hall And Spa
Middlethorpe Hall York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing