We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,449)
Filter reviews
1,449 results
Traveller rating
1,102
256
64
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,102
256
64
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housedrawing roomnational trustdownton abbeyearly morning teacountry housestately homepublic roomson arrivalsteam roomrelaxing breakyorkshire breakfastroad noisewonderful hotelyork racecoursebirthday treatbeautiful building
Filter
Updating list...
1,124 - 1,129 of 1,449 reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2011

It was my husbands 60th birthday and we arranged for a private dinner and overnight stay at Middlethorpe with friends. We had one of the superior rooms in the courtyard and we had stayed in the room before . It was spacious and clean and also warm when we arrived mid afternoon which is not always the case in a hotel and one of my personal hates. The Library was reserved for our party of 8 and we had champagne and canapes in there before a private dinner in the Yellow room. The food was wonderful and the young lady who looked after us throughout the meal was a delight. We returned to the Library for coffee and sweets. We were served breakfast in the Yellow Room the following day and also offered a bucks fizz as it was a special occasion. Thanks to all at Middlethorpe for a really fabulous time.

Room Tip: If you can run to a superior they are really spacious
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandCDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Excellent service and Dinner at Middlethorpe Spa, York, the rooms were lovely and well presented, only one comment coffee making facilities would have been welcome, great spa and pool area all clean and well kept. The staff so friendly and nothing was to much trouble. A great breakfast with endless choice. will definately go there again cant wait.

Jenkins - North Wales

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

On arrival we were greeted by a porter who helped us with our bags, gave us a quick tour of the hotel and then showed us to our room. Our room was in the courtyard part of the hotel, it was a nice room and very clean. There was a tin of homemade shortbread in the room which was a nice extra. The bed and pillows were very comfy. Our evening meal was gorgeous; drinks and food are pricey here but worth it! The food and service were faultless! We were both presently surprised at the high quality of food and service and are surprised this place doesn’t have 3 AA rosettes. Breakfast was also gorgeous! There is a library of DVDs in the hotel and you can take these to your room and watch them which I thought was a nice idea. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a1234a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We visited the hotel on the 18th November for lunch. As we were early, we went into the lounge for drinks and nibblles. Spoilt from the start with a nice glass of chardonnay and a variety of nibbles, which you could certainly make a meal from.
Shown into the dinning room and met by very attentive staff, and throughout our visit, showed us immaculate attention and service.
The meal was superb, and the highlite of this meal was the Scottish Hake with mussels and chorizo. I complemented the waitress, who told the chef. Later the chef came from the kitchen and explained in detail how this meal had been prepared - brilliant.
The cheese board was out of this world.

This was one of the most relaxing, delicious meals that we have had - well done to everybody at Middlethorpe Hall.

The hotel has been tastefully preserved by The National Trust, and is a credit to the staff who run it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miles01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Purposefully chosen for a memorable experience, the Middlethorpe hosted two separate Dinner Parties to celebrate my wife's birthday. The Cuisine, the ambience, and service were, as anticipated, special, resulting in a 'Lifetime's' experience, with many of our guests subsequently writing to us commenting on just those aspects. We are very grateful to the Manager and Staff who ensured that the two occasions lived up to such expectations

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews