We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,805)
Filter reviews
2,807 results
Traveller rating
1,885
610
204
65
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,885
610
204
65
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews valet parking taxi rank minster bells perfect location lovely hotel valet service hotel restaurant no air conditioning breakfast was excellent small room afternoon tea lovely room within easy walking distance enjoyable stay cooked breakfast full english biscuits
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,072 - 1,077 of 2,807 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018

After reading all the great reviews we were bitterly disappointed. We were "upgraded" to Room 27 and 28. 27 was fine apart from the heating and electrics (see later). Room 28 was horrible. Shabby (see photos) and unappealing and very cold. When we returned after the theatre the radiator was not working. Neither were any of the electric sockets. The receptionist didn't know where the fuse box was. When he did locate it and reset it - it blew again 3 times (especially when he plugged in the electric heater he had brought up which FLASHED when he turned it on. And it FLASHED a second time when he tried it in the second room. Dangerous). He had no idea why the central heating was not working in 28 or 27. We went to bed cold. By the morning the radiator had sprung into life in 28 but was still dead in 27. I emailed the general manager. He never replied. He spoke to my sister but there was no apology, The breakfast was good. The location is very good. Room 28 is poor. Avoid.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank ramsdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DeanCourt, General Manager at Dean Court at York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear ramadp,

Thank you for your review following your stay last week. I am sorry you did not like room 28. Room 28 and 27 are on the same electric circuit board, and as a light had blown in room 27 as a safety feature the fuses trip out. I explained this to your sister when i visited her in room 27 in the morning after you all had breakfast, where i profusely apologised. I still am not sure why the heating was "off" in both your rooms in the evening when the other 35 bedrooms all had heating, except as I disused with your sister and brother in law the radiator valve had been turned off. I did not reply to your email which was sent during the night on Thursday, as I was in the hotel all day on the Friday, and asked your sister if I should visit you in room 28, - next door, she stated that i should wait until you were ready to see me. I removed the car park charges as a gesture of good will on the morning of your departure which i know you acknowledge with reception.
Once again i am sorry that these incidents spoilt your stay and hope that one day you may all return to once again visit our great City and perhaps catch another theatre show.
On a brighter note i am pleased that you liked our location and you had a good breakfast.

Kind regards
Simon Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Fourth visit here and was perfect yet again. Our wedding meal 2 years ago was at the Dean Court and we couldn’t have been better looked after. Thank you to all once again - food and service impeccable.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 471melk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DeanCourt, General Manager at Dean Court at York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Mel K,

Thank you for your "Fab - u - lous review, I am so pleased that you have had another perfect visit and my team looked after you so well. Looking forward to that 5th visit !

Kind regards
Simon Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and had a fantastic time, very friendly staff from the second we arrived to the second we left, good breakfast and room was lovely with a big comfortable bed.

Had a couple of hiccups, the shower pressure was poor the first night (not the hotels fault) but they came up with a solution quickly and efficiently and a plumber was in the next day to fix it while we were out for the day. Then on the last night, all the locks on the first floor had been changed as part of a ongoing upgrade programme, so you can imagine our confusion when we had a card slot on the door when we left in the morning and didn't when we got back, Again reception remedied the problem and apologised profusely (I do think that perhaps a note pinned to the door to say to go to reception would have saved a bit of confusion, especially as we weren't the first to come down).

But overall a lovely hotel right next to the minster with some lovely pubs and restaurants in a short walking distance. Would definitely stay again

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DeanCourt, General Manager at Dean Court at York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Anthony M,

Thank you for a great review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the minor hiccups were resolved quickly and professionally, (we did have signs on the front desk advising guests about the room lock upgrades on the day). Thanks for your recommendation and lets hope we see you again soon when revising our great City.

Kind regards
Simon Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Visited on a business trip for a meeting here. Possibly the friendliest staff I have met in a hotel for a long time. Staff on reception were great, bubbly and helpful. Meeting was in a room which wasn't easy to find, but again every member of staff I passed, was happy to help with directions. Restaurant and Bar staff also friendly and helpful. Room was good and very clean. only issue was one of the two TV's in the suite had a poor signal which caused the picture to freeze. Everything else was great.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blok103
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DeanCourt, General Manager at Dean Court at York, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear Blok103,

Thank you for your very nice review following your meeting at the hotel, I am pleased to read that overall you had a great stay served by the friendliest staff you have encountered for a long time- great feedback. I will of course get the TV signal sorted out in the bedroom- sorry the picture froze, but thank you for letting us know. Lets hope we see you again soon when visiting York either on leisure or business.

Kind regards
Simon Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

Stayed here for one night as we rarely get away twin free we treated ourselves to stay here, booked a small double which was a lovely room view of the minster, even though next to road not too much noise. Arrived midday and told room ready so was able to drop bags in room, valet service takes car to their secure car park which is great.
The location of this hotel is fantastic ! We have stayed in various hotels in York Nd this is one of the best, shops,restaurants and pubs are couple mins walk.
There was couple issues the hairdryer in room 14 could be replaced as nozzle doesn't stay on when drying straight hair plus gets very hot.
Issue with breakfast, did mention on check out but unfortunately no discount given.
Other than this great stay

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DeanCourt, General Manager at Dean Court at York, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear Jane d,

Thank you for your lovely hotel review. Glad that you had taken advantage of our valet car parking service, which as you did allows you to arrive before check in, and leave after official check out time for the same daily rate of £18.50 per day, this represents excellent value for money, and just as important is very convenient and your car is safe. We have replaced the hairdryer just in case, sorry for the incident at breakfast. Lets hope we do see you again soon.

Kind regards
Simon Murphy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews