We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

14 of us went for afternoon tea and as we were a large party and had booked well in advance we had a lot of communication with one of the managers who had been extremely helpful. As there were several vegetarians, a wheat, gluten and dairy allery sufferer, and a nut allergy sufferer we had forewarned the hotel and were told that this would easily be accomodated. Unfortunately on the day the waiting staff appeared to be completely unaware of this and were surprised when it was mentioned. Subsequently the vegetarians were told to "just eat the vegetarian sandwiches" which were mixed up with all the others, meaning that everyone else was limited to the non vegetarian sandwiches, the nut allergy sufferer was told what she shouldn't eat without any alternative being offered. They did cater seperately for the wheat, gluten and dairy allergy sufferer but I felt that as everyone had paid the same being told what you can and can't eat without any alternative being offered was not good service when they had been informed very much in advance of the event.

For myself I thoroughly enjoyed all of the food and it was of a very high quality, but as the person who had organised it I felt very uncomfortable and upset for some members of my party. I would personally go again but only with a very small party. I wouldn't recommend it to vegetarians or allergy sufferers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RBTT1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your recent stay afternoon tea with us.

After looking in to this, and having spoken to my colleague who took this reservation, the notes on your booking read that you had dietary requirements for 2 guests who had gluten allergies.
We prepared sandwiches on special gluten free bread for these 2 guests. Naturally we will endeavour to cater for any other special preferences / dietary requirements and it is always recommended that we are notified of this in advance. Vegetarian options of course is something that we easily cater for every day and is not an issue. Vegetarian and non vegetarian sandwiches should have course been served on seperate plates so I apologise if this was not the case.

As always, we welcome all direct guest feedback to help us improve our service standards, so it is disappointing that we have only been made aware of your dissatisfaction on this forum.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at the Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future, whether you be in a small party or large, we will happily accommodate all of your needs and expectations.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,826
    619
    214
    98
    43
See reviews for
485
2,316
73
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (691)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel, from arriving to leaving everything was perfect. Spotless, comfortable and luxurious are but a few words to describe this hotel. The staff were all really helpful and curtious - nothing was too much trouble. The location is great with plenty of bars and restaurants just on the door step. We will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My stay at the Cedar Grand Court was for my first visit to York and I felt, as I entered the lobby, that I had stepped back in time to the 1920s! (In a good way, of course.)
They offer a valet parking service so a uniformed driver took my boyfriend's car and we were shown around the facilities in the Executive Suite room we were staying in.
The room was decorated in a simple yet elegant style, with a large bed and dark wooden furnishings. The bathroom was large with both a shower and a bath, which was set in cream coloured marble. The floor was heated and the sink had an array of Molton Brown toiletries for our use.
The restaurant had a small and intimate feeling to it with knowledgeable staff who also served amazing cocktails. (They cost from around £9 upwards but this is a 5* hotel and they really were worth it.) We had a three course meal each and I have to say the steak was one of the nicest I have tried to date. We also had breakfast and Afternoon Tea at the Cedar Court Grand which again were delightful experiences, serving the highest quality food and drinks with very polite and courteous staff who helped us to choose from their vast menu of teas and coffees. The cakes served at Afternoon Tea were heavenly, particularly their scones wrapped in 'blankets' to keep them warm and the little pastry discs with berries and a meringue topping. (See photo)
We were booked in for a massage and use of the spa facilities and I have to say I haven't felt as relaxed as I did afterwards in a long time! The pool area had gently changing lights to create a therapeutic mood and there was also a jacuzzi and sauna/steam room. The massuese was very professional and knowledgeable; she could instantly identify that I had a stressful job as soon as she felt the knots in my back :s
The most enjoyable element of the whole stay though was the traditional feeling and elegant ambience of the hotel and the high standards of everything that they had to offer.
It was great to see the city of York but the experience of staying at the Cedar Grand Court Hotel and Spa was the definite highlight and the memories will be long remembered.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laur2herself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Guest

Wow !! Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout and took the opportunity to take advantage of several of our facilities including our Cocktail Bar, Award Winning Grill Room Restaurant and Spa.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Absolutely met my expectations - polite, attentive staff, very friendly. Beautiful room, fab bar and great breakfast. Concierge really helpful. Felt really well looked after! Pool small but beautiful, great button to turn on a resistance current. Unfortunately the jacuzzi was out of order but this was explained to as soon as we went into the spa. Beds very confutable, towels fluffy - couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAGEL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular your time spent in our Spa.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Everything about this hotel was perfect. I stayed with my boyfriend in Feb 2012 as a romantic surprise. From the second we checked in, we were treat like royalty. We were checked in by Poppy who was just lovely and then got took up by concierge to our room. He opened the door and then saw a lovely surprise that was organised by my boyfriend (who probs harrased the staff beforehand- so even putting up with that thank you)
The room was heaven... very spacious... immaculate... 2 chairs...huge comfy bed with dressing gowns... huge bathroom, heated floor, a very luxurious bath and double shower! Oh girls, Molton brown toiletries :-)
Every member of staff we came into contact with was so pleasant and lovely .
I will be saving the pennies so I can come back again!!
Thank you

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetness86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
0.2 km away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
3.1 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.9 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.9 km away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
Price range (per night): $250 - $571
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing