We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Botanist”
Review of The Botanist York

The Botanist York
Ranked #131 of 982 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Description: It started with a seed. An idea shared amongst friends. They imagined a secret garden, where all can enjoy the curious refreshments of nature...
Restaurant details
Description: It started with a seed. An idea shared amongst friends. They imagined a secret garden, where all can enjoy the curious refreshments of nature...
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I love the Botanist's generally- and was pleased to find there was one in York - and for the 1st time ever was disappointed in the experience.

The positives first - the staff were very nice, and the food we did have was lovely.

The negatives: there was a long list of foods not available - which we were not told about until it came to ordering (I suspect because we were less likely to leave at that point after drinks were ordered etc., but maybe that's me being cynical). I was told this was due to the 'bank holiday'. Bank holidays are not a surprise event so perhaps more careful ordering is needed?

At 6.50pm on ordering a round of drinks we were advised our table was needed - again we were not told of this on arrival, we didn't go through until gone half five, which didn't leave a lot of time for the three courses and drinks. Again had we known it would be so rushed we would have moved on - there are lots of lovely places in York! There appeared to be 'bingo' starting at 7pm - bizarre.

Anyway, generally the Botanists are one of my favourites, not the York one though sadly. Back to Newcastle for me any day of the week.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Allison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanistYork, Manager at The Botanist York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi Allison H,

Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your visit to us.

We would really like to get in touch with you and find out more about your recent visit to us. Please could you email us via yorkagm@thebotanist.uk.com so we can discuss this further.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Many thanks,

The Botanist York team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

What an amazing find!! We visited on a tied night and the bar was packed with a game of musical bingo on the go. What fun!!!! Everyone joining in and singing along! The drinks were expensive but were lovely, maybe a little over priced though. Would definitely visit again. Although we didn’t eat the food smelt lovely and we will return for a meal!

Thank heatherberry1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanistYork, Manager at The Botanist York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi heatherberry1985,

Thank you for your review!

We are thrilled you had a lovely time, and enjoyed our Musical Bingo! We host this event on the first Tuesday of every month so be sure to play again :-)

We hope you come to visit us again soon, and to sample our delicious menu.

Many thanks
The Botanist York team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Great service and staff always happy to help! Food was lovely and everything was better than we had hoped for! Cocktails were also amazing! Will defiantly be back on our next trip to York!

Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanistYork, Manager at The Botanist York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Alice C,

Thank you for your wondeful review.

We are so pleased our staff looked after you so well, we pride ourselves in them!

Next time you visit try our Raspberry Amaretto Sour, it’s a firm favourite and you can’t help but order more!

Many thanks,
The Botanist York team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Had such a lovely time at the Botanist with my mum and boyfriend! Had the most tasty Chicken Hanging Kebabs, would recommend to anyone! The service by Jamie was also very friendly and superb!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank emma99a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanistYork, Manager at The Botanist York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi emma99a,

Thank you for your review.

We are thrilled you had a lovely time visiting us, and our Chicken Hanging Kebab was up to scratch. Next time you visit be sure to save room for a dessert, we recommend the cookie dough, a firm favourite & guilty pleasure!

We will pass your comments on to Jamie.

Many thanks
The Botanist York team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Tend not to go to chain restaurants, but as this is more of a mini-chain we thought we would give it a go. Pleasant enough service although it felt well rehearsed. They got my meal wrong which was replaced, but it left my wife eating alone, then as she finished her food, my meal came and then I was eating alone. Kind of takes the shine of the evening.
Although the wine was nice, I'd say just average at best in all areas, food, value and service. Won't rush back even though we're local. There are too many excellent independants in the city and should have stuck to our 'no chain' philosophy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank achatter53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BotanistYork, Manager at The Botanist York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi achatter,

Thank you for your review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests during their visits to us so we can improve their experiences.

We hope you do give us another go and pop back in the future.

Many thanks
The Botanist York team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Botanist York also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Botanist York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing