We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,087)
Filter reviews
1,087 results
Traveller rating
461
374
142
78
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
374
142
78
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb beer garden the pub attic room high petergate steak and ale pie flights of stairs inside the city walls york minster top floor bootham bar no lift guy fawkes an evening meal car park great central location breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 1,087 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Called in here for breakfast on a Saturday morning not booked but made to feel welcome. Breakfast was brilliant and very well done by the chef not cheap but very filling. Did not try the beer as too early. Would visit again.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank B263MFkarenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hello,

Cheers for the review and glad you enjoyed the breakfast! Hope you're able to come again soon and try our excellent range of beers.

Best wishes,

The Lamb and Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We called in here for an evening meal on a weekend stay during February. We hadn't booked but managed to get a table for four of us in the small front room. Food was great, staff were great and very helpful too. Would definitely have a meal there again.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mothernuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hi,

Thanks so much for your review! Please do come again for a meal soon.

Best wishes,

The Lamb and Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Booked a meal in here on Wednesday evening. It was a pre-wedding meal with both our families. We popped in for a cheeky beer in the afternoon and booked a table for the evening. My dad has a medical condition where he finds it difficult to eat in front of other diners. The man behind the bar showed us a few tables and they had a perfect rooms with one large table that was very private. Perfect for the occasion. When we arrived we ordered drinks then went and sat at the table. we ordered our food. The starters we had were tempura prawns, soup and I had brown shrimp beetroot cured salmon... all the plates were cleared. For mains we had 3 fish and chips with minted mushy peas. 2 pies and I had the pappardelle pasta. The food was delicious apart from the chips which were under cooked... we were offered a free dessert to share but we were full so we declined the offer... we would definitely go back here...

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Stian1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hello,

Thanks so much for your kind review - we're glad we were able to provide a good location for your special occasion! Please do come again soon - if you ring in advance you can always reserve the table you were on if you'd like it again.

Best wishes,

The Lamb and Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

We called in on a walk round York for lunch and were pleased with the welcome, the customer service was excellent as was the comfort and the general ambience. Our steaks were well cooked and the chips were delicious. Definitely worth a visit

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hi Kathryn,

Thanks for your kind review! We're pleased you had such a good time with us - hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

The Lamb and Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

This hotel was not what we expected at all but never the less it was an amazing experience. I feel like it would make you feel at home even if the theam is not what you where looking for in the first place.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aclass92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Hi,

Thank you for your kind review! We're glad you had such a good time with us. A warm welcome atmosphere is certainly what we try and cultivate, so we're glad that's what you felt while you were with us. Do come again soon!

Best wishes,

The Lamb and Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews