We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
B+B York(York)(Great Value!)
USD 138
USD 134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 119
USD 104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The York Priory(York)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 304
USD 185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 145
USD 118
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 182
USD 152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 103
USD 93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 124
USD 105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn York(York)(Great Value!)
USD 87
USD 72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 102
USD 98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,023)
Filter reviews
1,023 results
Traveller rating
430
357
135
72
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
357
135
72
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslambbeer gardenthe pubattic roomhigh petergatesteak and ale pieflights of stairsinside the city wallstop floorbootham baryork minsterno liftsister hotelreal aleguy fawkescar parkan evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 1,023 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Called in here for breakfast on a Saturday morning not booked but made to feel welcome. Breakfast was brilliant and very well done by the chef not cheap but very filling. Did not try the beer as too early. Would visit again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank B263MFkarenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hello,

Cheers for the review and glad you enjoyed the breakfast! Hope you're able to come again soon and try our excellent range of beers.

Best wishes,

The Lamb and Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We called in here for an evening meal on a weekend stay during February. We hadn't booked but managed to get a table for four of us in the small front room. Food was great, staff were great and very helpful too. Would definitely have a meal there again.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mothernuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hi,

Thanks so much for your review! Please do come again for a meal soon.

Best wishes,

The Lamb and Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Booked a meal in here on Wednesday evening. It was a pre-wedding meal with both our families. We popped in for a cheeky beer in the afternoon and booked a table for the evening. My dad has a medical condition where he finds it difficult to eat in front of other diners. The man behind the bar showed us a few tables and they had a perfect rooms with one large table that was very private. Perfect for the occasion. When we arrived we ordered drinks then went and sat at the table. we ordered our food. The starters we had were tempura prawns, soup and I had brown shrimp beetroot cured salmon... all the plates were cleared. For mains we had 3 fish and chips with minted mushy peas. 2 pies and I had the pappardelle pasta. The food was delicious apart from the chips which were under cooked... we were offered a free dessert to share but we were full so we declined the offer... we would definitely go back here...

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Stian1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hello,

Thanks so much for your kind review - we're glad we were able to provide a good location for your special occasion! Please do come again soon - if you ring in advance you can always reserve the table you were on if you'd like it again.

Best wishes,

The Lamb and Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

We called in on a walk round York for lunch and were pleased with the welcome, the customer service was excellent as was the comfort and the general ambience. Our steaks were well cooked and the chips were delicious. Definitely worth a visit

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathryn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hi Kathryn,

Thanks for your kind review! We're pleased you had such a good time with us - hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

The Lamb and Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

This hotel was not what we expected at all but never the less it was an amazing experience. I feel like it would make you feel at home even if the theam is not what you where looking for in the first place.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aclass92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Hi,

Thank you for your kind review! We're glad you had such a good time with us. A warm welcome atmosphere is certainly what we try and cultivate, so we're glad that's what you felt while you were with us. Do come again soon!

Best wishes,

The Lamb and Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews