We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Crows Nest

External view of the first floor studio apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
External view of the first floor studio apartment
open plan living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
External view of the first floor studio apartment
open plan living area
New kitchen
Great views to the Sea and Whitby Abbey
Outside play area for the kids
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura s
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I have just returned from a stay at the Crows Nest. The accommodation was ideal for me, my partner and our dog. The apartment had everything we required, and was in a great location, close to Whitby and perfect for nearby dog walks. Thank you for our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy W
Wakefield, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money.”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Convenient for Robon Hoods Bay and Whitby, lots of space for the money, on,y negative comment would be that it lacks attention to its finish and a bit dusty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: No one to bother you.
Liked least: Quite a long walk into town.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gumfers
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place - ideal for a couple or small family”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Crows Nest. The location was just right being in a peaceful setting but not too far from Town. We caught the X93 bus into Whitby which stops on the main road. We also walked the Cinder track which runs along the back of the cottages and goes all the way to Whitby, we brought our dog along and he enjoyed the walks. The apartment itself was very welcoming and had everything you need but would just like to point out the bed, which wasn't very comfortable and the sofa/bed in the living room could do with updating. The bedding was also of low quality.
We found the apartment very relaxing, being away from main roads and noise but my concerns were raised when I noticed they were converting the building underneath to what looked like a shower block for the campsite on the field it overlooked. I can see this affecting the privacy of the Crows Nest in the future and probably the water pressure too as we noticed this drop sometimes in the shower. I would also recommend a mixer shower as we had 2 children and had to watch them in the shower to make sure they didn't burn themselves - the right temperature was hard to maintain. My other concern was the outdoor picnic area for the Crows Nest, which we didn't use because it was right next to the shower block and overlooked by the campsite so didn't feel private enough. The sockets in the bedroom were in the wrong place to use easily - I luckily took my own mirror that I could move nearer to the sockets to dry my hair etc.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and would definitely come again but would hope that the owners pick up on the negatives and make changes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquil location
Liked least: The comfort of the sofa and bed
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A really good place to stay”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We enjoyed our holiday, everything was within easy access and the accommodation was good.
We had everything in the accommodation that we needed apart from a coffee pot.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
Thanks for the kind review - coffee pots on the shopping list!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMFinley
Pool in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“OK for the money”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is a lovely space to stay in but with a little more attention to detail it could be superb.
It is in a lovely green location but still close to Whitby. Great for our dog.
The main farmhouse is a beautiful Georgian building.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The building itself
Liked least: Seemed to us that there was a general lack of care, just needs a few finishing touches.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing