We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great for us (young couple & dog) not so good for...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lindsay R
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great for us (young couple & dog) not so good for elderly or the unfit”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a super time in Whitby, the apartment was easy to find, we parked on the road down the hill on the left hand. Key lock/instructions were spot on. We stayed in apartment 4 on the top floor, the flight of stairs from the 2nd floor door is extremely steep the steps are tiny so could be very dangerous after a few drinks or for the elderly and unfit! However it was great for us and what we needed. The only "issue" we had was the light in the bathroom.... its between the sink and the toilet and very low down and its a glass light shade - my partner who is 6ft constantly walked into it and I am 5ft7 I also bumped my head on numerous occasions - I was petrified of breaking it! Other than that just perfect for what we needed - clean/tidy/everything we needed. THANK YOU for letting us stay and hopefully we will see you next year.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa-Mari...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great base for exploring the area”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Cooks Cabin was a great base for exploring the area. It was well equipped and had everything we needed for our short stay. The only negative was the globe light in the bathroom which my husband kept banging his head on and he isn't particularly tall. Low ceilings so tall people beware.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoiraSpen...
Yarm, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Just returned from a lovely stay at Prospect Apartments”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from our stay at Cooke's Cabin Prospect Apartments. The attic apartment was well equipped, well maintained , it was cosy, comfortable, and roomy, it was situated about a 10 minute walk from Whitby up a steep hill ( there are lots in Whitby) and close to the Cedar Track an unused railway line where we cycled from Whitby to Cloughton.
The owners were very helpful and offered us good advice around cycle hire and other pieces of local information.
Local neighbours, were a bit noisy, this was a family of seagulls that liked to party on the roof. The babies were cute.
All in all we thoroughly enjoyed out stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrs j c
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“lovely place”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

lovely place and spotless apartment ,stayed here new year ,would book again,everything you need in the apartment ,ten mins walk down to the harbour ,great place to stay for new year ,would recommend this cosy little apartment ,if looking for somewhere to stay in Whitby ,Jacqui and paul

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jgreenst
Uley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a lovely stay in Whitby and the flat was as described - very clean and well equiped - the town is a short walk and we did this a few times a day - it is an uphill walk back but so close to the centre of town it did not make a lot of difference and to be honest felt lots better for it - the park is on route to town with the museum and art gallery - it takes a long time to explore the town as there is so much hidden away that is easy to miss if you are not careful - strongly recommend the steam train journey to Pickering and back - really lovely trip over the moors and tea service on board -what could be better. Also walked to Robins Hood Bay - and caught the bus back - lots of pubs and eating places in town but would recommend the Moon and Sixpence for good value and tasty meals - can get busy at the weekend so best to book. Also visited the Captain Cook and Jet museums

The only wish we had was a little bit more comfortable seating in the flat for the evening - the sette while cute is so small it is hard to sit on and it has no head support - also the chair whilst sweet is more decorative than user friendly all else brilliant and will definately go back - given that these little points are easily fixable we give this propery 4 stars but would easily give it 5 if a few adaptions were made to the seating

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The chairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing