We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base for exploring this beautiful part of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebecca B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect base for exploring this beautiful part of the country.”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This apartment is absolutely lovely, clean, well equipped and comfortable. The parking is definitely a bonus and the location is great - just far enough out of town to be away from the crowds but close enough to walk down to the old town and harbour. I have absolutely nothing negative to say about my stay, I regularly come to Whitby and have stayed in numerous cottages and this is the one I will be using from now on.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the abbey from the living room window
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MollyDoll...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The owner emailed a week before our stay to say she'd be in touch with directions and how we could collect the keys, but she never did. Unfortunately I hadn't realised this until the morning of our stay so I emailed her. I didn't get a response and we had to wait over an hour outside the property once we'd arrived as we tried mobile numbers and landlines. Luckily some other guests entered the property and gave us the owner's daughters mobile number and we were able to get the information about obtaining the key.
Once inside I was disappointed by the cleanliness, most notably the hair in the sink plug hole and the awful smell in the bathroom which turned out was coming from the rancid water in the toilet brush holder. Yuck!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrietba...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely short break”
Reviewed 14 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at prospect villa for 2 nights and was pleasantly surprised.
The accommodation was very clean, comfortable and well equipped.
It's in a perfect location, only a 10 minute walk into town.
I would definately recommend it and hope to return ourselves again in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G
Brandesburton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable, home from home apartment!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just had a 4 night stay in Caedmons Retreat at Prospect Villa Holiday Apartments, easy booking process, easy check in on arrival, and very clear directions. We have had a lovely few days taking my elderly parents with us, apartment was on the 2nd floor, but the stairs were not too much of a problem to either of my parents neither of them having great mobility.......the apartment itself is bright and airy, well furnished and equipped, a real home from home. We also took our dogs with us, which was great and had no idea Whitby was so dog friendly. Beds were all very comfortable with crisp clean bed linen and a good supply of towels......despite taking my own, there was also basic dish washing cloths and liquids........we will definitely be returning, but perhaps a ground floor apartment for the parents next time!!!!! Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of living space.
Liked least: I guess the bathroom was a tad small, but perfectly functioning.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rozandstu
n/e
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant apartment,beautiful town ,fantastic trip.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in the top floor apartment,which has undergone major refurbishment and has been done to an excellent standard.it is fully equipped with everything you could possibly want,from a dishwasher to a torch,the furnishings were mostly new and very comfortable, parking not a problem.Great recommendation from Derek the proprietor for the Railway Chippy just round the corner also the First and Last Pub opposite the chippy.
Would thoroughly recommend Prospect Villa as a great base to stay in Whitby,we actually were shown the huge ground floor apartment which was done to the same standard as the apartment we were in so from that I would say any of the four apartments are worthy of a visit,we will be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing