We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Doves Haven

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Our playground for the kids
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tophiller
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

OK - so the reason we found this place 'home from home' is that we've got geese, ducks and chickens at home, and this place has all these and so much more besides!! It is well worth taking the time to visit all the rescue birds on the site.

Four of us stayed - all adults. We found the cottage extremely well equipped and clean. We had been warned of the low beams in the bedrooms so were ready for this. They ARE low and I'd like to try and re-arrange the beds so that the risk of banging your head is reduced - but I'm sure the owners have thought of this. We had plenty of hot water and the showers worked well. The site is situated next to a sewage treatment works but during our stay - with temperatures in the 70s - the smell was barely noticable. The STW is screened with trees.

We had dogs with us and they really enjoyed the open spaces to play safely. For us the games room was an added bonus.

The beauty of this place is its location. It is in open countryside yet is only a 5 - 10 minute drive from all the attractions in Whitby. It is also a great base from which to explore the North York Moors, Robin Hood's Bay and Scarborough. A lovely little holiday cottage in a great location.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rita C
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cosy cottage.”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Well equipped, warm,very clean cottage.In a good location for Whitby, Robin Hood's Bay and Staithes.First night it was very quiet.Second night was noisy, the communicating door does not stop noise from next door, and allows cigarette smoke through.As non-smokers this was unpleasant.Apart from this, it is a lovely holiday cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ReidsNott...
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for a short family break”
Reviewed 16 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lovely place to stay for a short break. Well-equipped property and the owners on site but not intrusive should you need anything. Our heating packed up on our second evening and the owner came over immediately and fixed it.

The play park area is great for kids and you can see them from inside the cottage. Another bonus for families is the games room. Although having a full complement of pool balls for the pool table (at 50p a game) would have made it better; this was one thing my 9 year old son was looking forward to as quality father-son chill time.

Supermarket close by is very convenient as is the Cinder Track that takes you on a walk into Whitby. Would highly recommend wellies! The farm gets boggy when wet (and this *is Whitby). To get to the Cinder Track you have to walk across a long-grass field and the walk itself is prone to being muddy! Don't let this deter you from a lovely walk and a lovely retreat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe H
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We arrived to find a very tidy and well equipped cottage. Our 8 and 9 year old shot straight upstairs and then straight outside on to the play park. Perfect for our weekend break. The beds are comfortable. How lovely to find a bone china tea set as well as the usual mugs.
The location is ideal, off a beaten track so there is very little traffic to worry about. The dog loves it here. It is straight out if the door and over the fields. There is also a track that takes you straight to Robin Hoods Bay and then Scarborough should you fancy a hike. There is also a lovely view of the Abby from the field.
The owners are very friendly and helpful. Sainsburys is a 10 minute walk and a car is advisable. Loved it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing