We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely little place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Doves Haven

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Our playground for the kids
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
born2misb...
Nottingham, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely little place to stay”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our first stay in Whitby and we stayed at Dove's Haven, one of six cottages on this site. The cottage itself was lovely, nicely furnished and well kitted-out with everything you could need including towels, iron, washing-up liquid, pretty much everything. For a 'small cottage' the downstairs area is very spacious. The bedrooms and bathrooms are under the roof so there is limited headspace, especially when taking a shower, but you get used to it! There is a nice children's play area on site, which our two year-old loved, WiFi in our cottage, and we had lovely fresh eggs from the owners' rescued hens.
Transport is needed as it's a long walk into Whitby itself but worth it for the peace and tranquility of the site. Sainsburys is across the road, handy if you need anything and there is a lovely country walk to Robin Hood's Bay from the cottages.
Our boiler stopped working halfway through our week's stay, and the lovely owner sent her son and daughter straight away to sort it out for us. They are all really nice people.
Would definitely recommend and will likely stay again, we had a lovely holiday, thank you :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're glad you enjoyed your eggs! Our rescue ex-battery hens are great layers. We hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark l
1 review
“A real home from home”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Just returned from a lovely weekend in doves haven
Everything in the cottage anyone would need for their stay was there
Friendly staff , who know all about the area
Just across the field is the cinder track way , a disused railway track which took us on a fantastic walk to robin hoods bay
Would recommend and return again
Many thanks

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2014
Thank you for the kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russ B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful haven from the rat race.”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The owners were very friendly and welcoming on arrival and remained that way during out stay. The cottage is very comfortable and furnished to a high specification. The location is ideal been just outside Whitby giving it a peaceful feel with the town only two minutes drive away. Will certainly be revisiting in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambiance of the cottage
Liked least: The low beam in the shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. A lot of guests find our cottages peaceful and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankie P
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy little cottage”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in April with three friends and the cottage was lovely, just what we were after. Though the bedrooms are little they're perfectly usable and the beds are SO comfortable. The bathrooms are clean and everything works, though as they're tucked under the eaves tall people need to beware the ceiling! Alexandra was helpful and really friendly, and the free-range eggs were a lovely touch. Cottage is well-equipped, inc. iron and ironing board. We'd have loved to stay longer, and will definitely be back!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2014
Thank you for your lovely and honest review. We're glad you had a nice time here and we hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tinalou12...
Accrington, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 1 night was really pleased. Owners were very welcoming and we even got some complimentary eggs on arrival :) lovely area and the fact you can take your dog is brill will defiantly be visiting again with my pooch!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2014
Hi,
Thank you for your lovely review - really pleased you had a good nights stay and enjoyed your eggs.
Look forward to seeing you and your pooch again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing