We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb accommodation!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Horseshoe Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve a
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation!”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic one night stay, easy booking, great communications. The cottage was in great condition, very clean with more than enough space for the 4 of us and Gary the Dog! Lovely surroundings and the kids loved the play area and safe open aspect of the outdoor area.

Superb location, very peaceful yet a 2 minute drive into Whitby. I would highly recommend this accommodation and we will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Everything!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klur2002
klur2002
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great last minute choice”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a great weekend we had in the cottage. Fab location and lovely cottage. We will definitely book again, in the summer next time so we can have a nice walk to Whitby.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven C
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Property, Great Location.......”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is very well equipped, clean and tidy, and had plenty of space for our family of 4 Adults and 2 Children. The location is ideal, a 2 minute drive or a 25 minute walk to Whitby centre. The owners' instructions and information prior to arrival was great. The Xmas trimmings were a great touch to the cottage, just making it like home from home for the little children and also the bigger children. It was a shame the weather was a little poor but I can imagine in the hot summer this place would be a little gem!! Would recommend staying here any time! We all had a lovely time, thank you for our lovely stay and hope to see this lovely place sometime in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2014
Thank you for your positive review. The cottages in the summer are a real treat as we provide a BBQ, the outdoor playground and grounds as well as the outdoor seating for basking in the sun. Likewise, when we get snow, the cottages really do look quite lovely.We're glad you appreciated the Christmas decorations - it may be a little early perhaps but as you were staying in December, we thought we'd get them out anyway. We hope to see you again in the future - maybe when the weather isn't quite so drizzly!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet D
Bingley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very well equipped cottage very suitable for families with play area outside.”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with my daughter and 3 grandchildren aged 4,8 and 13. We found the cottage perfect for foamy groups, although the bunk beds could do with new mattresses. The children really enjoyed the outside play area and would have used indoor area if weather poor, which it wasnt. Will definitely use again .

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2014
Thank you for taking time to review Horseshoe Cottage. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and made full use of the childrens outside playground. We are in complete agreement with the mattresses and have since ordered new mattresses in replacement. Thank you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geoffrey...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A welcome break”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Really good three day break, close to all amenities. Cottage good location being off the main road making it a safe place for children. Granduaghter loved the farm hens, ducks and young seagulls. Also made good use of the childrens playground.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our cottage, and we will of course welcome you all back next again. Thank you for booking with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing