We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good Value”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Stable

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
Our playground for the kids
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
katiel514
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Neat and Tidy but tough on the nose”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We found the Old Stable to be the perfect 2 night stay on our travels around the UK. The bedrooms were neat and tidy and the beds were comfortable. 1 room had twin beds with little room to put suitcases but we did fit. The setting was in a lovely area but we were unable to leave any windows or doors open as the sewage works were right next door with unfortunately an overpowering smell. The location suited us as it wasn't far to drive to neighbouring towns or into the centre of Whitby. There also was a few pubs handy close by for meals.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crystalbu...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good Value”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

In a nice position,Sainsburys nearby,not far from centre whitby,nice cottage.Suitable couples ,Families.Disabled.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The Location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathleen...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Take cleaning products and your own bedding”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked The Old Stable based on glowing reviews posted on trip advisor and I am left mystified. Had I not been accompanied by two youngsters excited for their holiday I would probably not have stayed. The pity of it is that this could be a really nice holiday venue were it not so poorly maintained and mucky.

I had one uncomfortable conversation with the owner who said that two hours to clean the premises was not long enough for the level of cleanliness I was looking for. I think he believed my standards are too high rather than his too low. Perhaps he is right, I will post this list and these photographs and you may decide for yourselves.

Mucky oven, mucky microwave, split, dried on milk in the fridge, brown sink, chipped and stained crockery. 2 of the windows wouldn’t open, including the one in the kitchen and there was no extraction. The toaster was broken and there is no handle for the grill pan, which how we came to burn the toast and how we came to discover that the smoke detector doesn’t work. On the subject safety there were no PAT Testing stickers on any appliance and no carbon monoxide detector. This may not be a legal requirement but what happened to due diligence? No bulb in the kitchen light and food remnants from the previous occupants in the various containers and rotting remnants food in the uncleaned bin

In the bathroom, 3 out of 4 lights not working, no extraction, no opening window. The shower was a dribble and the loo brush, which I decided not to photograph, also had remnants from previous occupants.

In the bedrooms, dust thick enough to autograph, cobwebs galore, The double bed mattress was stained with bodily fluids including dried blood spots, no mattress protectors, no pillow protectors, the linen was greying and dingy. I had seen enough of the existing standard to doubt that he would have had fresher in his linen cupboard so we stripped the beds and bought new from Homebase.

The owner offered to refund the cost of the new sheets but this never materialised. He did eventually supply a clean toilet brush and a new pan to replace the grease- thick original and a perfunctory apology.

I very much doubt my remarks had any impact and so if you do go to The Old Stable I suggest you take bleach and your own bedding.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray R
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great central location, clean and quiet”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Very comfortable accommodation and well located for touring the local area.
Renovations are currently in progress which we are sure will only enhance the overall experience.
Will almost certainly plan a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindawilk...
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great little cottage - and well located!!”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely little cottage and very well located for visiting surrounding places. the complimentary eggs were delicious!! Would definitely stay again if we come back to Whitby, and would recommend to others. Really handy having the Sainsburys close by - but not too close! The dog also loved it!! Thanks for a lovely stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quiet setting.
Liked least: the smell from the water treatment plant next door!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our pet friendly cottage, and we will of course welcome you back if you decide to visit Whitby again in the future. Thank you for booking The Old Stable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing