We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Service and Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Resolution Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Resolution Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Have just returned from our 1 night stay at the Resolution Hotel and although we travel on a regular basis this is the first time I've ever felt the need to submit a review.

From the very first contact I found every member of staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were nicely decorated with excellent views from the 2nd floor. The staff directed me to a small car park only a few minutes walk atway (carpaking is usually not great in Whitby) which was £4.50 for 24 hours.

We had an evening meal in the restaurant which was excellent and guests received a 20% discount on top of the reasonable standard cost. The inclusive buffet breakfast was also of a very good standard with a good choice.

From reading previous reviews it appears that the present owners are fairly new, and if this is the case then they are definitely going in the right direction, have employed great staff and deserve to be successful. We look forward to returning in the future.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    392
    180
    53
    44
See reviews for
79
649
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

A gem of a find in the heart of the town. A restored period building with three bars and only 21 rooms. The staff were fantastically friendly, polite and helpful. I was given 20% discount in the restaurant for being a resident.
The room was airy and tasteful, nicely decorated with a comfortable bed. There was a generous selection of tea and coffee (including decaff - nice touch), and an equally generous range of toiletries as well as big soft bath sheets.
The restaurant food was brilliant, I can highly recommend the Whitby crab spring roll. The restaurant was sunny and comfortable, the tables well spaced apart. The drink prices were reasonable and the staff attentive and courteous.
There was an 80s disco in the Vault bar and live band in the main bar which stayed open until 2am. The excellent young lady who checked us in also assured us that there was a porter service 24hrs too.
The breakfast buffet was a good range of fresh fruits, cereals and yoghurts as well as a full hot selection including bacon, eggs, sausages, beans, hash browns, black pudding, toast etc. All you can eat and I certainly took advantage of it!
Would we stay again? We've already booked a return visit!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dangerousbryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Asked for room with view and obtained a superbly lit room with windows on two sides, 2nd floor, with the welcoming staff earning full marks. The view looked past a church to the abbey on the other side of the harbour - the hotel is within easy reach of all the tourist desiderata. Parking is up a lane in a pay car park (4.50 pounds for 24 hours). Breakfast a little sketchy but perfectly OK.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank booksperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Great rooms with great views, great food, great staff/owners and a great place to stay whilst in Whitby. A really nice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Good points: Staff welcoming and friendly, breakfast was lovely.

Poor areas: bed was unbelievably creaky, even just to perch on it!
Advertised flat screen tv only had 3 channels ( ITV missing)
No information pack in the room
The plumbing in the surrounding hotel meant that when a toilet was flushed or running water the pipes echoed so loudly it woke us through the night
No highchairs at breakfast for our 7 month old baby.
No nearby parking

Room Tip: Don't stay unless you are prepared to request a different bed/room. Take ear plugs for the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 669grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
a_delahunty, Manager at Resolution Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for your review. Even though it highlights many bad points it is important that we receive feedback so that we can improve as a Hotel.

As I hope was conveyed to you on arrival we have only just taken over the hotel and are working very hard to fix issues as we find them.

In answer to the exact points you have made:

The TV system was an old fashioned integrated aerial system which did not provide all of the required channels to our new flat screen TV's. I am glad to report that the new aerial and system is in place. We had previously tried to install this but the weather (high winds and rain) had caused us issues preventing technicians from going on the roof. I understand this is a little late for your stay but I wish to show you that we are working hard to address the points.

The plumbing issue is one that hasn't been raised to me until now. I appologise if you conveyed this to a member of staff and I will be checking to see if there has been a failure in communication. That said I have now got our people working on it now (just a few minutes after seeing the review you have posted).

Highchairs are not something we ordinarily have but clearly you have highlighted a call for them. Again I can only appologise.

As for parking, we do recomend two car parks which are both 2 minutes walk from us. Being very close to the centre of Whitby it is very difficult for us to offer or suggest anything closer. We always recomend that customers either contact us for an email map or alternatively park outside the door (in the 40 minute parking area) and we will direct them to the nearest car park.

The information packs will shortly be arriving (again there has been a slight delay). We as staff here try our very best to advise and provide information on the local area.

Finally, if customers report an issue with a bed we will work on it straight away. Our beds are traditional style wooden beds, and whilst it would be easy to change them to duvans, we feel that they do add to the experience of the visit. Obviously if they creak this is not good and I will have this looked into and replaced if necessary. Just a final word on beds... We have found in the first few weeks that some of the matresses were not as comfortable as customers would have liked. Whilst this does not appear to be the case with your room I would like to point out that we have already replaced the vast majority in our continuing effort to provide the very best stay we can.

I once again appologise that the stay was not all you had hoped for and wish to reasure you I am working to the very best of my abilities to address any issues that arise. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words about our staff. We do work very hard to try and please our customers and again we will be using this (and any other reviews we get) as a checklist of things we must fix immediately.

Kindest regards

Andrew Delahunty
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.9 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,862 reviews
0.4 km away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.2 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#9 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.2 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
3.9 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resolution Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resolution Hotel

Property: Resolution Hotel
Address: 1 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Price range (per night): $78 - $177
Hotel Class:3 star — Resolution Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Expedia APAC so you can book your Resolution Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resolution Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing