We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage - already booked again”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Abbey View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance Living Area with kitchen in the background
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Entrance
Living Area with kitchen in the background
Kitchen
Bathroom
Twin Bedroom
King Size bedroom
King Size Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebecca A
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage - already booked again”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was my third visit to Whitby with my children and partner. I previously stayed in another of the owner's properties (Seagul Cottage), which was perfect too. I loved staying at Abbey View. The owner always provides all the information needed, and the welcome pack has lots of extra infrmation - the milk and biscuits are also a lovely welcome.I also got my shoppng delivered staright to the cottage which was perfect. The cottage was just perfect for 4 of us - homely and beautifully decorated. It is a perfect location to explore Whitby. The local Thai restuarent was amazing and we enjoyed the boat trips, abbey, ghost walk and walked to Sandsend.

I have already booked my next trip (in the summer) at one of the other, smaller properities for me and the children and I can't wait. Whitby is lovely and the properties from coastal properties Whitby make our stays even better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy and close to the centre
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2015
Thank you for your great review. I hope you enjoy Garden Court just as much:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
james g
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Loved everything about our stay, home from home.”
Reviewed 15 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have visited Whitby for the past 5 years and have enjoyed all our visits.
Luckily on this occasion we were treated on arrival to the Tour de Yorkshire - magnificent.
Only to then find probably the best cottage we have stayed in up to press.
Excellent quite location and a very short stroll into the town (200yds)
A quaint cottage having lots of character with tasteful décor to a very high standard.
Have already recommended to others and will continue to do so.
''EXCELLENT''

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience of staying at the Abbey View Cottage
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2015
So glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Whitby and also Abbey View. I appreciate you taking the time to let others know. Hope you decide to visit again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coggins75
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cracking cottage!”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at Abbey View for a long weekend. It is a charming cottage with bags of character but all the comforts of home. We loved that the cottage had not lost its period features but was combined with contemporary decor. The cottage was spotless, the king size bed was comfy and all areas of the cottage were well equipped. The view of the Abbey from the windows was a treat. The cottage is tucked away in a secluded spot but just a short five minute walk in to the heart of Whitby. We had a great time in Whitby and the surrounding area and would not think twice about rebooking this fantastic place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor and home comforts.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2015
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your break in Abbey View. Hope you decide to visit again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrisi82
Ripley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a little gem”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Me and my partner when for a quiet birthday weekend away and Abbey View was beautiful, cozy and very clean, it made our holiday even more special and memorable. We will be booking and coming back, soif you are looking for a home from home we can highly recommend booking this little gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your review. Look forward to hearing from you again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BagLadyBi...
Doncaster
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal accomodation for an early autumn break”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We loved the quaintness of the cottage, the proximity to the town centre was ideal. We were so lucky with the weather I do not think it could have been any better for the time of year.
It did get a little cold at night and we couldn't figure out the central heating nor find the radiators that were supposedly in the cupboard under the stairs as mentioned in the information booklet, luckily we found lots of cosy blankets.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location - didn't use the car for the whole time we stayed
Liked least: Quick showers due to poor drainage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing