We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Whitby Retreats

The stunning harbour view...at dusk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning harbour view...at dusk
The property is a stunning, grade 2 listed building
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
The stunning harbour view...at dusk
The property is a stunning, grade 2 listed building
Fine dining...
The master bedroom - with ensuite and harbour view
Original features include feature fireplaces in both bedrooms
Open the door, enjoy the view...
17a peeks out from the yard of the Captain Cook Museum (middle of picture)
The tiny study
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gnasher91
suffolk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a gem”
Reviewed 22 June 2010 for a stay in June 2010

Stayed here last week on advice from all trip advisors and so glad we did!
What a lovely home, everything you could possibly need and we had a fabulous time there. Shall definately rebook as love Whitby and the house just made it even more special for our trip away. For all the people talking about WiFi buy a dongle, works just fine. The Captain Cook Museum lock was a pain at times especially after a trip to the Moon and Sixpence but having the courtyard to ourselves after they had gone home made up for it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nickie_De...
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Fantastic Accomodation In The Heart Of The Town”
Reviewed 21 May 2010 for a stay in April 2010

I stayed at this accomodation during Aprils goth festival, we were here to do business as well as have some leisure time. The house was extremely clean, had everything we needed and was extremely spacious.
The harbour views were fantastic, it really did make it feel like a holiday for us and we were within walking distance of everything!
The house owners had done us proud and we will certainly be looking to book this accomodation again in the near future! :D
(Nickie)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigg7
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous place!”
Reviewed 17 April 2010 for a stay in October 2009

We stayed for 2 lovely weeks last October. The apartment was beautiful and clean and itwas the perfect location! If I had anything negative to say it would be that we would love to have internet connection, but perhaps someday. We would love to return someday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WilsonWes...
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to stay!!”
Reviewed 12 March 2010 for a stay in February 2010

This apartment has everthing and more to make your stay perfect. It is in a great position of sightseeing.
The rooms are very comfortable, especially in winter, it was lovey and warm.
Well worth the money.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
libbyl00
middlesbrough
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Lovely Apartment in a Central Location”
Reviewed 10 March 2010 for a stay in March 2010

Just back from a long weekend staying here with my teenage daughter and mother-in-law and we have all thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this stylish, warm, comfortable and well equipped apartment.
Although a little more expensive than average, this place is very central and beautifully decorated. Everything you need is provided, inc. towels, tissues, milk, tea, coffee and a lovely bottle of wine!
The lounge is very spacious with a nice harbour view. DVD's, games and books, etc. were very welcome, however the TV was a bit disappointing - poor reception and only 4 channels, not even freeview.
I would have expected more from a 4 star property.
The bedrooms were extremely comfortable with a harbour view from the main, the en-suite and family bathroom were very clean and stylish.
As previously mentioned, there could be street noise late at night, however we expected this, so weren't bothered by it.
The kitchen is very well equipped, it has everything you need and more.
As the apartment is within the Capt. Cook Museum yard, it is very secure, although we had problems getting through the outer door from outside the yard - very tricky lock! To be fair though, this entrance lock is the museum's responsibility, you just have to find the knack of unlocking it!
We have stayed in numerous properties in Whitby over the years and I have to say this one was definitely my daughter's favourite - she wanted to live there!
All in all, a very enjoyable and comfortable stay.
Emma, the owner, is very helpful and efficient - it was a pleasure to do business with her. We will certainly return here again, sooner rather than later!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing