We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property
Bolthole Cottage- You need directions as even locals don't know its there! Through the maroon door!.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bolthole Cottage- You need directions as even locals don't know its there! Through the maroon door!.
Enclosed front yard. Hidden away off Cliff St, its quiet, but in the centre of Whitby. Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Bolthole Cottage- You need directions as even locals don't know its there! Through the maroon door!.
Enclosed front yard. Hidden away off Cliff St, its quiet, but in the centre of Whitby.
Lounge
kitchen
Full size bath and shower for soaks after ten mile coastal walks??!
bedroom
TV /freesat in bedroom.
Local beaches are lovely even in winter,- sun rises and sun sets over the sea are for photographers.
Hire bikes or walk to Robin Hoods Bay on the old railway! Only 2miles, and you can catch bus back!
Hunt for fossils on the Dinosaur Coast. Bring hammer and rucksack. Visit Whitby Museum,s superb wing
One well behaved dog welcomed!!!
Sunny steps, sit out with cuppa, cushions provided!
kitchen
Gated yard
Whitby has small artisan shops and Open Studios --my passion -blue glass!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
wel1960
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Just stayed for 3 nights at this cottage don't let the steps put you off they really are not that bad like climbing set of stairs in house the cottage well worth it and location is brilliant got everything you need when get there and so close to everything so clean well maintained credit to Karren and lovely touch of welcome pack . The only down side is parking I would advise to get there extremely early and find parking space as early as possible took us one hour to get a space we did not move car for 3 days neither did the car in front or behind us it is a major problem in Whitby parking not the fault of cottage worth getting there early get a spot but once got it don't move cottage again beautiful and worth the set of stairs

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Hello, and thank you for doing a review - and the very useful comments on the cottage and parking. I think the Bank Holiday Weekend is always very busy parking wise. As a help to future guests, its best to arrive at the cottage at 2 pm --- then I can assist you with parking. So glad Wendy you liked the cottage and location tho! Cheers Kaaren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 May 2017
Dear Anne --- Many thanks for your review ,
Kind regards Kaaren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 May 2017
Oh thank you both very much! Sorry the weather wasn't brilliant --but good to have you stay again. Best regards Kaaren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Iain M
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“25 steps to heaven”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Close to the town centre, amazing choice of pubs and restaurants, fish and chips are unrivalled. The cottage beautifully decorated, cosy, clean and tidy. We spent Easter weekend days sight seeing local area and evenings relaxing.

The title "25 steps to heaven" is the gentle climb up to the cottage and a peaceful world great for relaxation. Whitby is a lovely town and the Bolthole Cottage an idyllic, quiet, private holiday place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2017
I will never look at those steps in the same way again!! Well, - I love my little cottage too, and you're right Iain, it is quiet---- hidden from busy Cliff St. Thanks to you Jamie and Angie for leaving so spick and span.
Go well. Kaaren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JUDITH W
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Cosy warm loverly atmosphere very clean home from home”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Very close to the harbour central for everything beach shops boat trips resterants etc Whirtby Abbey only minutes away .Really enjoyed our break.Beach very nice also walked to beach just beyond the Abbey our dog loved it Cottage so invitting we didnt eat out but took takeaway back ,.Loads of good books ,magazines,DVDs if the weather not sogood . When. arrived fresh milk bread home made biscuits coffee andt tea left forq us . We have told all our friends and would love to stay again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2017
So glad it fitted the bill! It was a really lovely gift to treat your friends to a break in Whitby. Glad the steps didn't put anyone off!! The cottage was left perfect---and thanks so much for doing a review.
Best wishes
Kaaren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing