We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
Bolthole Cottage- You need directions as even locals don't know its there! Through the maroon door!.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bolthole Cottage- You need directions as even locals don't know its there! Through the maroon door!.
Enclosed front yard. Hidden away off Cliff St, its quiet, but in the centre of Whitby. Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Bolthole Cottage- You need directions as even locals don't know its there! Through the maroon door!.
Enclosed front yard. Hidden away off Cliff St, its quiet, but in the centre of Whitby.
Lounge
kitchen
Full size bath and shower for soaks after ten mile coastal walks??!
bedroom
TV /freesat in bedroom.
Local beaches are lovely even in winter,- sun rises and sun sets over the sea are for photographers.
Hire bikes or walk to Robin Hoods Bay on the old railway! Only 2miles, and you can catch bus back!
Hunt for fossils on the Dinosaur Coast. Bring hammer and rucksack. Visit Whitby Museum,s superb wing
One well behaved dog welcomed!!!
Sunny steps, sit out with cuppa, cushions provided!
kitchen
Gated yard
Whitby has small artisan shops and Open Studios --my passion -blue glass!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
meech1968
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at bolt hole cottage welcome pack was a nice touch,cottage was nice and clean and close to everywhere , the abbey with great views over Whitby, welcoming pubs,nice restaurants and a great beach to walk the dog on who was welcome at cottage and most other places

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
Thank you John for doing a review, much appreciated!
Kind regards
Kaaren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy K
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An enchanting, beautifully presented cottage in the heart of Whitby”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I came across this cottage while looking for somewhere to take my puppy for her first holiday. The owner was extremely helpful from the word go and greeted us with cakes and other goodies on our arrival. The cottage is immaculate, cosy and welcoming. Although it is only minutes away from the harbour and sea front, it is hidden away and very quiet. This really is a little gem of a cottage. Millie and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I would not hesitate to recommend to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved everything about the cottage - fabulous location.
Liked least: There was noting to dislike
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2015
Kathy thats really kind of you, ---- and it was lovely to meet you and Millie, she's going to bring you lots of joy that one! Kind regards to you , Kaaren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassa2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 10 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I could not praise this cottage enough. It was central to Whitby and a perfect base for our mini break. It was very quaint and so spotlessly clean. Usually we use a holiday let as a place to sleep in and can't wait to get out as we are very fussy about smells and other people's dirt. We not only chose to go back to relax but also cooked meals which is not an experience we have ever felt comfortable to do before.
Thank you Kaaren for a memorable wedding anniversary

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2015
Thank you Caroline, really appreciate you doing a review. So glad you had good anniversary, and liked Whitby.
You are very welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna L
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cosy cottage tucked away in the heart of Whitby”
Reviewed 8 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is a lovely little cottage with all the home comforts you need. It is in the centre of Whitby but you wouldn't think so when inside as it is quiet and peaceful. There is also a lovely yard to sit in. The owner is friendly and helpful.

All in all, a great place to stay for our holiday and we hope to come back and stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2015
Thank you Anna for your review, and the hot cross buns you baked at the cottage! My best wishes to you both.
Kaaren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily M
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A real home from home cottage in a fab location!”
Reviewed 25 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I wanted a weekend away in Whitby and came across this lovely cottage. It's a stones throw from the centre of Whitby so ideal for us.

The cottage is small but perfectly formed, the bed was super comfy and the kitchen was fully equipped with everything you could possibly need.

Kaaren was a pleasure from start to finish, the cookies on our arrival were very well received!

We will most definitely be returning, such a beautiful cottage and so tranquil.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2014
Thank you Emily for your kind review! Yes it needs to be snuggly in Winter! ---but the interesting small shops, ans good restaurants make up for the bracing East Coast air!! So glad you came , and thanks for leaving so tidy. Its our Christmas outdoor market this weekend.

Kind regards
Kaaren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing