We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absoutly brilliant!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kauri Cottage

Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
View of front of Kauri Cottage front from the River Esk Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
View of front of Kauri Cottage front from the River Esk
Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Dining Room with French doors to outside patio seating and communal lawns
Dining Room with French doors to outside patio and communal lawns
Dining Room showing aspect of kitchen
Dining Room showing aspect of kitchen
Second Floor Lounge
Second floor lounge with French doors to outside balcony. Double sofa bed for one or two guests
View from second floor French doors and balcony
First floor bathroom with shower
Second floor double room
Second floor double room
Second floor double room
Second floor bathroom
The famous St Hilda's Abbey
Whitby at night
Beach Sunset
Twin bedroom on top floor
Twin bedroom on second floor next to double bedroom
Single bedroom on first floor
Tourist boat from Whitby harbour to Ruswarpalong the River Esk  on the high tide
Sight seeing cruise from Whitby Harbour up the River Esk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Danewilli...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absoutly brilliant!”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Visited this amazing cottage in this amazing setting for my partners birthday and brought along our two King Charles cavaliers , we all had a wonderful time and would recommend this lovely cottage to everyone , we will definitely be visiting again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2014
We very much appreciate your review on our cottage, thank you.

The location is perfect for the dogs and I am sure they will have had as good a time as you !!

We very much hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

With many thanks and regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KT_Yorksh...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage for a special occasion for 6 adults and 1 baby...
After reading the excellent reviews on here, we contacted Martin & Julie who were very helpful from start to finish. Everything was spot on and we couldn't have wished for a better weekend - both accommodation and weather. The cottage is spacious and comfortable and they have thought of everything, from Champagne glasses (which came in very useful) to matching crockery ( a must for Mum!) Loved the views from the balconies on both floors. Lovely scenic walk over viaducts to the centre of Whitby (approx. a 25 min steady walk).
Hope to return in Summer 2015!
Keep up the good work :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2014
Many thanks for your review - glad all the celebrations went well and the champagne glasses were put to good use !!!

We have now received and confirmed your booking for next Summer so we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pippa L
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Lovely cottage, in lovely surroundings. Just under the viaduct and next to the river (which is ideal for crabbing) the cottage was lovely and modern and very comfortable for the 7 of us! Just a short walk into whitby on the cinder trail which takes you over the viaduct, we did this every day as we didn't bring a car with us. Would defiantly return, many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found Whitby easily accessible with just a short walk into town, and that the fact you did not have a car with you did not stop your enjoyment of the cottage and surrounding areas. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn D
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

A really good holiday cottage. Very clean accommodation with great first floor lounge and balcony to relax. Good location, pleasant site with Whitby and all it has to offer a short walk away. We enjoyed being on the doorstep of the Cinder Track which provides great walking access both north and south. The wifi was an added bonus especially when you have teenagers!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2014
Many thanks for submitting a review for us. We are delighted that you had some good weather and were able to enjoy the balcony and the views. We look forward to welcoming you to our cottage again in the future. Kind regards Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen H
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Love it!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This is the third time we have stayed at Kauri Cottage and we just love it! The location is picture postcard and the accomodation is excellent. Everything you need, the house is immaculate. A welcome addition of BT Vision and wi-fi this year added to the quality. My son loves the river and the location is ideal for walks, bike riding or jogging. Cant wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2014
Many thanks for your review - so glad you keep coming back to us and you are still happy with everything we provide. We look forward to welcoming you to the cottage for a fourth time in the near future.
Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing