We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exellent accomadation would reccomend”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge with Freview TV, 42" LCD TV & Surround System
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge with Freview TV, 42" LCD TV & Surround System
Double Fronted Detached Cottage with Hardwood Double Glazing for Warmth & Quiet Lounge with Cosy Log Burner Set in Antique Fire Surround for those Romantic Nights in
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Lounge with Freview TV, 42" LCD TV & Surround System
Double Fronted Detached Cottage with Hardwood Double Glazing for Warmth & Quiet
Lounge with Cosy Log Burner Set in Antique Fire Surround for those Romantic Nights in
Kitchen with Induction Hob, Full Oven, Combi Microwave, Coffee Machine & Washing Machine.
Kitchen with Induction Hob, Full Oven, Combi Microwave, Coffee Machine & Washing Machine.
Main Double Bedroom with Mahogany Sleigh bed
Double Bedroom with Mahogany Sleigh Bed
Twin Bedroom with Mahogany Sleigh Beds Second Floor
Designer Travertine Family Bathroom
BBQ & Seating Area immediately in front of Gulls Cry & LED Patio lighting & Security Cameras
Summer House in Court Yard
Rear of Gulls Cry as seen from Cliff Street
Hall
Lounge at Christmas
Court Yard at Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Derek K
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exellent accomadation would reccomend”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Gulls cry cottage was a great night away for my mam and dad. They loved it and said that they would deffinatly stay here again. Lovely decor and great for a family getaway. Close to the shops and places to eat. Colin was great to deal with and very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2015
It's nice to have another booking where the guests feel they have appreciated Gulls Cry as we do ourselves when we stay. The Little Summer House is about to be opened up next week which should enhance stays especially in the warmer months.
Thank You
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clairebuc...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage , very clean and modern appliances stayed for a weekend only a few minutes walk to whitby nightlife . Loved it all perfect if you're looking to stay in whitby . Rented a lot of cottages in England but this was far the best one we have stayed it . Will definitely return .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2015
Once again taken aback by another lovely and appreciated review.
We are just about to open up the newly refurbished Summer House in The Court Yard next week to try make a break in Gulls Cry even more pleasant, especially for those outdoor alfresco evenings with a Cool Glass of Prosecco perhaps.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All off it!!
Liked least: nothing not to like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for pointing out that you intend to return which paints a very good picture for future guests. The hopefully tasteful Xmas Decorations are now put out each year to enable guests to get into the spirit of Xmas as soon as possible.
Here's hoping all our guests enjoy Gulls Cry as you have and may we wish all past, present & future guests a Very Merry Christmas
Kind regards
Colin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Nov 2014
Always feel humbled when good reviews are posted and feel we are hitting the areas that are important to us and our guests. Any negatives no matter how small, we always strive to improve on.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mags H
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A near perfect house!! Very clean and homely. No detail forgotten. We have been visiting Whitby for around 6 years and try and visit at least twice a year, never found a house that we wanted to rebook until we found 'Gulls Cry'. Colin you are a star! Nothing was too much trouble, and boy were we trouble!! Hahaha. I am sure we will be making a return, hopefully soon. The photos do not do it justice ....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: No dishwasher or freezer.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2014
That's a wonderful review thank you so much, your very welcome to revisit anytime you need another "fix" of
Fish 'n' Chips and Seagulls.
Hope to see you soon and any ideas to improve further seriously considered -------- then probably ignored, lol
No seriously, if you do think we can improve, and that goes for any guests, please let us know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing