We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
exterior view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
exterior view
Harbour view from bedroom dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
exterior view
Harbour view from bedroom
dining area
kitchen/diner
ivory decorated bedroom
luxury bathroom
Entrance to Laverick Steps
View of Whitby and cottage location
Whitby view
Whitby view
Whitby Abbey
Robin Hoods Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ange99920...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not suitable for children”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Really nice touches like wine left, tea/coffee and cookies to your use. Underestimated the steepness of the steps though and my 6 year old fell down some. Bedside lamp blew up whne turned on and set the bulb on fire as it flew through the air and burnt my 6 year old - out of date PAT testing from April 2014 - it's only valid for a year. Extinguishers last tested in 2013! Curtain rail fell on my head. Shame as bathroom/bedroom roomy and generous. Odd mixture of high quality but let down by cheap accessories.Noise from seagulls will wake you up early as single skin windows. Great location but access getting/using the key in the door is very difficult and fiddly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: bedside lamp set alight when turned on
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2015
Dear Ange
So sorry you and Daughter did not have the best stay in the oottage and about the highly irregular incident with the faulty lamp. The cottage steps are steep which we always make clear along with the fact that Laverick Steps is not suitable for everyone. We hope our response to the incident was satisfactory in that we removed and replaced the lamps the very next day and fixed the blind that had fallen down.

Our PAT testing was technically due at the end of May this year but we are trying to shift all annual testing and maintenance to take place after the Summer season between October and January so it is a little delayed this year. The extinguishers were however checked in October 2014. We are under no legal obligation to test them annually and on the advise of the local fire Service are moving to smaller recommended extinguishers this Autumn.

Do let me know what you mean by the 'cheap accessories' as we really try to offer a high quality experience for all our guests. Unfortunately we cant do anything to improve what are standard key safes, keys and door locks or the noise of the seagulls. All the windows in the bedroom are double glazed not single but I appreciate that's this is not very relevant in Summer when the windows need to be opened.
best wishes
Erica and Raj
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBGrim
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Everything was perfect. This was the most beautiful getaway for us in the most wonderfully welcoming place - and we just so happened to get engaged here. Thank you. x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2015
Congratulations on the engagement! That's fantastic. best wishes Erica and Raj
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dianeas
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a fabulous time. The cottage is beautifully decorated and had everything we needed. The bathroom and bedroom are particularly gorgeous. In particular, the bedroom has lovely views across the harbour and the owner has thoughtfully placed two stools by the window so that you can see the view.
The property is arranged over 3 floors and would definitely not be suitable for anybody who ahs difficulty with stairs as they are very steep.
If you can manage the stairs, it's a wonderful base for exploring Whitby. Close to the Abbey and easy to walk from. The position is great. Close enough to the busy West side but far enough away to be peaceful. Close to pubs, restaurants (so many lovely places to eat).
The cottage was very clean and the bed linen lovely, fresh and tasteful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilise12
Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Laverick steps has a perfect balance of retaining tradition balance with modern luxurious facilities. Amazingly clean, including bright white sheets and towels. The attention to detail makes all the difference. Chairs in perfect locations and a welcome bottle of wine on arrival all add to the homely feel.
The cottage has is very traditional and stairs are steep so not appropriate for people with mobility issues. It's views and central location means you don't have to travel far to enjoy all Whitby has to offer.
I'm an internet junky so not having internet access may put some people off although the local library pubs etc. do have Wi-Fi.
I really loved it:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Oiginal feautures
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian C
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a whitby gem”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

we stayed her for three nights over the weekend of the musicport festival in october 2014. this is a lovely old cottage over three floors brought up to date. it has everything you might need for a holiday stay in this beautiful town. the sitting room/ kitchen is neat and tidy and well supplied (there was even a complimentary bottle of wine waiting on the table for us and milk and tea bags), little touches like this mean that the owners are considerate types. on the first floor is a lovely bathroom with grand fluffy towels and flannels. the bedroom is in the converted attic and has gorgeous views of the town and harbour to the front. just a five minute walk takes you into the heart of the town past "mr chips" our favourite whitby fish shop. if you are looking for self catering in whitby you couldn't go wrong with this place. it's a little gem. this cottage is suitable for two adults. there are two steep stair cases so i can't recommend it for people who might struggle on such a stairs and though you might have room for a cot in the bedroom, it wouldn't be easy to carry a baby up and down, but the owners will tell you that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, views, the cottage itself
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Your comments about the stairs are very useful for other guests to see as it reiterates the descriptions on our website etc. very best wishes Erica and Raj
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing