We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“LovelyStay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of River Bank Cottage

The cottage is on 3 floors 
Quiet location by the river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage is on 3 floors 
Quiet location by the river
A view towards the moors Riverside Walk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
56 reviews
The cottage is on 3 floors 
Quiet location by the river
A view towards the moors
Riverside Walk
Riverside Walk
first floor living room
living room to rear
from the living room
kitchen diner looking onto river
kitchen to the patio
bedroom overlooking river
Steam Train seen from cottage
Early morning view
Larpool Viaduct
Riverside Walk from the river
Feeding the ducks on the slipway
Walking the Whitby rail path
Whitby Abbey from the Viaduct
Whitby harbour from the old town
The famous Abbey steps
Taking a sea trip
from Whitby swing bridge
nearby Robin Hood's Bay
Robin Hood's Bay
Everyone likes a holiday!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Shaun T
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“LovelyStay”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Very nice, clean and comfortable cottage. Excellent location and super peaceful. hard to fault anything, if only the owners could have influenced the weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The weather!!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Thank you for those lovely comments. It was a shame you had fog for 3 days. We do think about our customers and hope you will return to better weather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MollnAlf
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a wonderful week at Riverbank Cottage. Very well equipped, very comfy and clean. Many thanks for the welcome pack much appreciated. Beautiful view from the window of the river and wildlife and the steam train passing by. Plenty of walks with the dogs which of course they enjoyed. Was everything we hoped for and we will certainly return. Thanks to Russ and Tricia x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful, peaceful setting.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sal195220...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“could be cleaner !!!”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Really good location and lovely views but on arriving noticed the front steps were un swept and cobwebs everywhere but got inside and all surfaces appeared clean but as I reached for a magazine down the side of the sofa I couldn't believe the dirt and fluff in the corner it was disgusting I then checked under the other cabinets and it was the same would say more than a weeks worth of dirt I daren't check under the bed !! was a real shame or it would have got rated a 5 as there was everything you needed and a good welcome pack

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Being in the countryside nature sometimes advances more quickly than we can clean, so some debris blowing about in the wind can be expected. A narrow time window between customers does not always allow for such external cleaning, nor the moving and cleaning underneath each item of furniture. I am sorry this customer found some fluff in the corner and I am sure our next guest didn't find any. This customer wanted two days, at short notice, which we don't normally do because of the extra cleaning required either side of the booking. It was a favour on our part. Please see all the previous reviews on cleanliness. We will not be beating ourselves up over one slight mistake.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara18...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bright accommodation with super view of viaduct”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Accommodation set over 3 floors with toilet facilities on ground floor (kitchen) and 3rd floor (bedroom floor). Tv on all 3 levels. Super views from windows and bright accommodation with windows on 2 sides (back and front). Shared garden at rear, a lovely sun trap with table and seating provided. Plenty of walks (although you do have to go up the steep hill to get to the viaduct )-this is then about a 20 minute walk to Whitby. Would have preferred segregated garden area as we have a dog, but knew what we were booking. Go to Foss Falls tea rooms for lovely cakes, about 5 minutes drive away. There is a lovely walk by the river to get to this if you park at the car park further on, next turn after the Foss Falls turning, over the cattle grid. Good communication with owner and just ask if there is anything you need to know about the area. Lots of wires connecting TVs / DVds etc so make sure correct appliance is plugged in and has not fallen out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the window
Liked least: Climb up the hill
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angie-Jay...
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very cosy and well equipped.”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Delighted with our stay at River Bank Cottage. Was nice to stay close to river with North Yorkshire Steam trains travelling along on the opposite side of the river. Cottage was well equipped with everything you would need. Nice touch was the fresh orange, milk, tea, coffee and biscuits. Access to town by foot was an enjoyable stroll over the top of the viaduct and along the cinder track. Took us about 25 minutes or less than 10 mins by car. Would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well equipped
Liked least: Mattress on bed was a little too firm.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing