We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little gem”

Review of Tumble Cottage

A Side on view of the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Side on view of the cottage
A view looking towards the landing from the master bedroom Bed in master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
A Side on view of the cottage
A view looking towards the landing from the master bedroom
Bed in master bedroom
The Staircase taken from the kitchen
Downstairs toilet
Kitchen Diner
Museum at The Abbey
Captain cook statue
The Garage from Heartbeat
The Post office from Heartbeat
Whitby Abbey
A view looking towards the swing bridge
Lounge featuring the pull out bed settee
Second Bedroom double bed
The Second bedroom TV and wardrobe
A view looking across the harbour towards the town
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ifreeman1...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A little gem ”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely place would recommend to anyone , made to feel welcome from start to finish , there was tea coffee and milk on arrival ,everything you needed was there give this 10 star if I could will be booking this every time we go to Whitby a big thank you to ivy and Alan

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a good time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ange7143
Billingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous from start to finish”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

my husband and I stayed here for our anniversary for a long weekends and all I can say is it was perfect. Absolutely ideal for what we wanted right near to the shops and pubs and cozy enough to stay in and chill too. The cottage was lovely and compact with everything you could possibly need and the little touches were very much appreciated. Would highly recommend to all and can't wait to book again

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Pleased you enjoyed your stay, had a good time and chilled out
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnoTheW...
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun at the heart of Whitby.”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here for the Goth Weekend, and love how convenient it is for everything. You have everything you need in easy walking distance.

The cottage itself is compact but well set out. Immaculately clean, and well presented. Ivy is always really friendly and happy to help.
We'll be back soon. Looking forward to it already.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2016
Thanks Johno and all, see you all again soon. Ivy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happyholi...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 2 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Just back from brilliant couple nights at this little gem. Almost don't want to put a review so can keep it secret! Brilliant location. Ivy provides everything you need for a lovely break plus some extra special touches. Will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miffythev...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent again!”
Reviewed 27 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We visited here again after last coming for just a night last year. I'm really glad that I decided to choose Tumble Cottage again. It is in the heart of Whitby so it was nice to be able to do things like a spontaneous ramble down the beach at night or popping back for a respite from the wind before setting out again!

The cottage has everything you could want/need, including pots and pans etc. We had no issues with noise and had a very good night's sleep, my partner enjoyed the shower as much as last time!

The only thing that had changed is that it is now double yellow lines EVERYWHERE so we had to pay for parking. I wasn't aware of this as I hadn't asked and had just assumed we would be able to park down the same side street as before. There is a carpark round the back of the church opposite but it is £9 for 48hours so whilst it's close enough for lugging suitcases there might be somewhere else cheaper nearby. This wasn't a problem for us though as it meant I was less worried about going out of Whitby in the car and still being able to park when we got back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully decorated
Liked least: No issues
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing