We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (613)
Filter reviews
613 results
Traveller rating
258
213
81
27
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
213
81
27
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoaching inngin cocktailscobbled streetdiscovery roomquirky hotelsunday lunchsteep stairsscallopstop floorbooked a tablefish and chipskipperssingle bedbreakfast rooman evening mealfollowing morningbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 613 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Just a quick one night break and have eaten here before but never stayed .Called to book rather than using usual booking agents and that got us a very nice upgrade to the top floor Helga Maria room.... such an intriguing story behind the name I'm looking out for the movie, Captain Jack from the early 90's. Lots of steps up but that didn't bother us.
All good and best breakfast I've had in years was included. Enjoyed the stay, especially the location ...

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MrT1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Nice quirky place? Some low ceilings in corridors but not a problem, nice bar... some gins a bit pricey... staff absolutely spot on.. was given the history of the place by the girl cleaning the rooms... food.. couldn't fault it.. beautiful.. rooms nice and clean.. shower was bit iffy but didn't ruin my life or my trip.. beds comfy.. would definitely stay again

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

We had a two night stay 4th to 6th June. We liked the look of the hotel online, looked quirky with lots of lovely original features and we weren’t disappointed.
Staff were lovely and friendly, quick to help and get us checked in. Offered to reserve us a table for dinner etc.
As we were shown to our room they offered to carry our bag, which we politely declined but appreciated the offer, we were given a tour of the hotel, shown the residents lounge and the side door to come and go as we please rather than having to go through the bar each time.
We stayed in the resolution room and we were impressed with how spacious it was, bathroom was lovely, clean and great bath tub.
Bed was firm but comfy.
For us the only draw back was the room felt like it was missing some finishing touches. Although it was lovely, just felt like it needed something to really make it a wow room.
But that’s not a criticism, could just be me being a woman lol
Food was great, staff were amazing, will be staying here again!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynzi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We booked this Hotel and, in over 35 years of staying in Hotels I can say I have never stayed in such an awful room. We were in the attic room which, quite frankly I have no idea how it passes health and safety standards since it is almost impossible to access and God forbid there ever is a fire because you are not getting out of that room. Apart from that the stink in the room could have knocked you out it was like sleeping in a cat litter. We complained but the Hotel was full. At breakfast our friends waited an hour for the haddock and then left the restaurant. Their room, though nowhere near as bad as ours had tiny windows and was suffocatingly hot.........All of this is a real shame because the staff, although run off their feet, were very friendly but I would never stay there again and for the price they charge to stick you away on the roof with a room so small you just have to fall on your back to get into bed it was quite simply the worst ever.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank d0ng0rd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

Superb yet again! Food just spot on every time, would prefer a nicer cut of steak to sirloin but it was still very good. You cannot get better service anywhere, beautiful little restaurant. Great wine selection and the cheese board a total must. Love the new menu this is our go to restaurant every time we visit.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews