We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Location - perfect for the cinder path into...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Streanaeshalch

Spectacular views from the front of the property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular views from the front of the property
A 'home from home' ... ... all year round
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Spectacular views from the front of the property
A 'home from home' ...
... all year round
Fully equipped kitchen
A great place to entertain or be entertained
Sleep well ...
... in light and airy bedrooms
Newly refurbished bathroom with walk-in shower ...
... or relax in bubbles
A great holiday for you in great surroundings
near the impressive Larpool Viaduct (view from balcony).
The Larpool Viaduct
Floorplan
Whitby Abbey
Robin Hoods Bay (15 minutes drive away)
Looking towards Whitby from Sandsend
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
James B
1 review
“Great Location - perfect for the cinder path into Whitby”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for one week and the holiday let was perfect for a family of 5 with 3 young children. They were captivated by The NYMR that steamed to/from Whitby and passing along the line opposite the house.

A clear advantage was being able to walk across the viaduct and into the town itself. There is a wonderful park and art gallery as you come down from the path. A 30 minute walk with 3 girls under 8 isn't bad.

Other destinations include Robin Hoods Bay and the fantastic Falling Foss with tea rooms and views.

The house itself is perfect for a family getaway and would definitely recommend to anyone else and also consider a return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRS1979
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house, amazing setting”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A lovely, clean, well equipped and homely house with a view over a river and the train line. The steam trains from/to Whitby station went past several times a day, much to the delight of my little boy. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashleigh...
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cosy, Beautiful and everything you need!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I travelled here with my boyfriend and a group of his cousins and other Family members for a Wedding in Sleights, nearby to Whitby. We arrived in the evening after a long drive from down South and was delighted to find this lovely, homely and warm house to relax in before the celebrations began the following morning. All the rooms are roomy and comfortable and the amount of extras that are included within the home is exceptional, from tea bags & sugar to Jenga and films! We stayed on the top floor of the the three story house in the twin room and the view of the Viaduct is stunning in the morning! (Especially with the great weather we had whilst we were up, Blue skies and SUN! ) The only problem with the nice weather was that it made the room incredibly bright in the morning, as the sun rose at about 6 and there is no light blocking blinds/curtains in the twin room so we had a bit of an unwanted early start to our long day at a Wedding! Other than that there is no faults with this property and we truly had a lovely and comfortable stay :)
We were able to visit Whitby during our short stay and even though we have visited many a time, it's still always as lovely to visit as the last! We agree that walking along the Pier with fresh Whitby fish&chips is a must! We also had a great trip down to Fossil Falls which is great for a summers walk and they have a beautiful little cafe there next to the Waterfall!
Thank you for a lovely stay and letting us share a piece of your stunning holiday home for a short while, you are very lucky to have such a beautiful property!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris J
Rixensart, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“All you can ask for from a home from home”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderfully quiet and beautifully located rental. Half an hour's walk from the bustle of central Whitby and on the Cinder Path for the more adventurous.

Beautiful scenery on the doorstep - literally - with the River Esk just outside and the old viaduct above. A great place to base a discovery holiday of the North East coast.

The house is very comfortable and extremely well appointed - clean, modern yet with style.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Location - peace and quiet - quality of rental
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie L
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect holiday home with everything you could want”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This really was a wonderful holiday home. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The owners really have thought of everything you could need whilst on holiday.

The house was clean, tidy and very welcoming. The kitchen was supplied with everything you could need to make your meals, including milk and the most gorgeous biscuits ever.

The beds were comfy and the rooms warm and lovely.

We can't wait to come back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing