We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well finished cottage, great location, great view!”
Bell Island Cottage (central red roofed house)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bell Island Cottage (central red roofed house)
Bell Island Kitchen Bell Island bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Bell Island Cottage (central red roofed house)
Bell Island Kitchen
Bell Island bathroom
Bell Island double room
Bell Island twin room
Living Room
Bell Island large shower
view from Bell Island Cottage
View of Whitby and cottage location
The famous Abbey
Whitby scene
Whitby scene
Whitby scene
Whitby scene
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
xxxxxixxx...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well finished cottage, great location, great view!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Top 5 things we liked the most about the cottage:
+ The location - right on the river, close to the centre, yet far away from the crowds.
+ The view - ended up watching the view rather than the TV.
+ The wine and biscuits: Pleasant surpise on arrival
+ The fittings and furnishings: Modern, well designed, well suited to its surroundings
+ The beds: Slept like a log

Minor downsides:
- Free parking is up the hill, may affect people with access issues, but guidance provided was very clear.
- The key safe - fidderly

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrownOwlR...
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yet another brilliant stay”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

After taking our grandson last year to Whitby we asked him where he wanted to go this year. He immediately said Whitby again but only if we could stay in the same cottage. So we returned once again and once again we were not disappointed. It was like returning home. The cottage was lovely and cosy . The beds were comfortable and the duvets were so warm - so nice to snuggle down in after a busy day. We were lucky to get a parking space opposite and the car never moved. We were out and about every day and saw things we missed last year. We walked along the beach to Sandsend, took a yellow tour bus ride - got off at the Abbey and walked down the 199 steps!,visited Pannett Park - the museum is closed on a Monday though, but the childrens play area is one of the best ones I have seen anywhere, discovered the Captain Cook museum and watched the kippers being smoked in Henrietta Street. Had a lovely Italian meal in Costa Nostra and of course fish and chips.
We had a brilliant time and my grandson said the best bit was not having WiFi and going out for long walks in the fresh sea air. He also enjoyed the spectacular view from "his " bedroom - the twin room.
He loves the place and the cottage so much he is talking about next year already

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home from home feeling
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Allison D
Bradford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage for a small family ....”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

My husband and I and our two small children, 5yrs and 17mths stayed here for two nights in the school holidays.
The cottage was cosy, clean and welcoming. The location of the 3 storey cottage was great, within a short level walk to the old part of Whitby and across the bridge from the newer parts, more restaurants and the west beach.
On our arrival a bottle of wine, milk and welcome biscuits greeted us which was a nice little touch.
The cottage is small and the bathroom is downstairs, not a problem for us but a bit of a hike for little ones when on floors 1 and 2, in the night!
Everything in the cottage is relatively new and clean, but a layer of dust was apparent and the cooker hood light broken and the cooker hood and closest cupboards covered in grease.
There isn't a washing machine in the cottage which again, if with children, could be a hassle to go to a laundrette if staying for more than a couple of days!!
The bed in the double room was very uncomfortable but the twin beds were very comfortable.
The cottage has Sky but the very basic package so only 3 or 4 channels to watch which was very limiting but lots to do out in Whitby so not a major problem. The cottage does not have WIFI either which is a must these days!!!

Parking for the cottage is a chance scenario and if your lucky you will find a space right outside, unrestricted, or a little further along in a pay and display car park..

Overall a lovely cottage with real charm, lovely views and a great location.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2014
Dear Allison so sorry that our high cleaning standards seem to have slipped on this occasion with regard to the cooker/dust. Also sorry that the double bed was not to your liking. It was a brand new replacement purchased just a few months ago in December 2013 from a local company who make beds for the tourist trade so I will monitor how others find it. We only advertise that we have freeview which I think is about 20 channels. We have to run it through a sky box but don't pay for any packages. We have thought about Wifi but find that most people use their phones for internet access so have decided against installing a phone line in the property. Anway glad that you still enjoyed your stay best wishes Erica and Raj
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bird Ingham
Reviewed 30 January 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 Jan 2014
Thanks for the review and letting me know you made a mistake with the dates entry. Can't see where to change it to correct dates so putting it here. This guest stayed 17th Jan 2014 for 3 nights. best wishes Erica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing