We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Christmas in Whitby”
Bell Island Cottage (central red roofed house)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bell Island Cottage (central red roofed house)
Bell Island Kitchen Bell Island bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Bell Island Cottage (central red roofed house)
Bell Island Kitchen
Bell Island bathroom
Bell Island double room
Bell Island twin room
Living Room
Bell Island large shower
view from Bell Island Cottage
View of Whitby and cottage location
The famous Abbey
Whitby scene
Whitby scene
Whitby scene
Whitby scene
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pinnypin
Sidmouth, Devon
1 review
“Fantastic Christmas in Whitby”
Reviewed 1 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We had a wonderful Christmas at Bell Island Cottage. The attention to detail is great - the welcome pack, towels, linen etc make for a very easy start to your holiday. Loved the thoughtful touch of providing a Christmas tree! It's a nice walk into Whitby, and we enjoyed just being slightly out of the hustle and bustle. We managed to get parking quite close to the cottage.

One tiny thing I would mention... as one of the other reviewers said... the vertical blinds don't give much privacy, and whereas normally I'm not a fan of net curtains I think this would be one window where they would be of benefit. We had people reading the cottage details on the window and staring in at us. Also curtains would make it feel more cosy in the evenings. I feel a little mean mentioning this, as everything else was lovely..!! The bathroom/kitchen were one of the best we've had from a rental - and we've had a few! It was all very clean too.

If we lived nearer (we are in Devon), we would be visiting again and again. Thanks for a very memorable Christmas - one of our best!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girlie30
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A relaxing break”
Reviewed 21 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Had a long weekend at Bell Island cottage - it was so relaxing and the sun shone for two whole days -in November!
The cottage is well-placed for exploring Whitby on foot. Also lots of good restaurants nearby, Trenchers being a favourite of ours.
By car, Staithes and Robin Hoods Bay are only a short distance away, and we fell in love with Runswick Bay -such a pretty place! Added bonus -no parking charges in winter!
Bell Island is very well- appointed inside and is clean, comfortable and warm.
Can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Double bed was a little hard
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 18 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
holidayqu...
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice house in Whitby”
Reviewed 15 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Lovely house for up to four people, very clean, with a great bathroom, nice large shower cubicle, toilet roll, liquid soap provided. Kitchen was well equipped and clean, washing up liquid, kithen roll etc provided, welcome pack of wine, biscuits and milk was handy. Fairly easy free parking just across the road, traffic noise was a bit of a nusiance, but did not keep you awake. Would recommed in the living room net curtains rather than blinds as they did not make for much privacy when people passed by and curtains for an evening for cosyness. Double bed could do with a new mattress as we found it not so comfortable as were the sofas. Really handy position in Whitby as near to everthing you need. Great view of the boats moored and the distant view of the steam train. Overall I would recommend as a nice short break destination.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Double bed mattress and the sofas neither comfortable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2012
Thanks Sue for your feedback. In early January we do all our cottage maintenance and upgrade. We keep a list of any guest recommendations. We had already decided to replace a sofa for something comfier and will also look into your other recommendations. best wishes Erica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
Reviewed 29 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing