We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (253)
Filter reviews
253 results
Traveller rating
146
68
22
5
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
68
22
5
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cliffstatic caravancoastal pathtouring caravancleveland wayprivate beachlovely siteplatinum caravanwell stocked shopcinema roomcafe on sitevw camperkids entertainmentgalleon bartoilet blockfossil huntingtoilets showers
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 253 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We booked our small motorhome for 3 nights over the Easter weekend. This site is ideally located for access to Whitby along the Cleveland Way coastal path. Saltwick Bay was easily accessible from a steep path from the cliff. The weather was terrible but we are hardy walkers so made the most of our time there. However, for motorhomes this site is unsuitable when the weather is so wet. We were very concerned when taken to our pitch as it was so sodden that our front wheels immediately sank into the mud. The warden had to attach a tow line to a 4x4 and drag us into place. We could not level the motorhome so our sinks would not drain away properly. As we were stuck in the mud we couldn’t get out to use our vehicle or get to the motorhome service point either. We decided to abandon our stay a day early as the site was so muddy - every time we stepped outside the motorhome we sank into the mud. The 4x4 didn’t manage to tow us out so the warden had to get a tractor! I know the weather was particularly wet but the pitch we were given was totally unsuitable for a heavy vehicle. We were told that we could be towed out but it was at our own risk - what else could we do?! The wardens were friendly and very helpful, despite having busy, stressful days towing the motorhomes out. Our poor experience, that wasn’t cheap compared to other better equipped sites, means we won’t return.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Very friendly place with a great location and good facilities. Good: children's play area. Pub/club, shop, launderette and cafe. Wonderful sheltered beach accessed by steep stairs. Pleasant cliff-side walks to both sides of the camp. 20-30 minute walk to Whitby via the Abby steps, or you can avoid them and walk down Green Lane. Take away restaurants deliver to the reception area. Good Taxi services down to Whitby and back. If you are staying out late mid week out of season book your return taxi before you set off. That helpful taxi rank by the swing bridge will not have a queue of bored drivers waiting at 2 AM on a Tuesday in January. Whitby has an excellent range of pubs catering for all tastes and ages.

Room Tip: It's a caravan park with static and mobile facilities.
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank davidnicholson2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

the holiday park is very clean there is a playground for children a shop for basics but reasonable we didnt go in the club so cant comment on that it is within easy reach of whitby the small beach isnt all that easy to get to if you have difficulty walking but once you are on the beach its flat and quiet looking forward to going again a nice quiet holiday park

Stayed: August 2017
Thank kathleen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

This is the second time we have visited Whitby Holiday Park hiring one of the static caravans. The park is ideally situated just a mile from Whitby town via the coastal path which makes for a lovely walk. Or alternatively a longer walk the other way to Robin Hoods Bay again along the coastal path.

The staff are very helpful and upon request they located us a table and chairs so we could sit out an enjoy the sun.

Check in was very swift and the caravan was well equipped. Only downside is the free wifi advertised is very patchy and not always working.

A lovely park with great views.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

Position of site good especially if you have a sea view bar on site good but i think after bingo etc lights should be dimmed far too bright in the bar area. Only let down was the shower facilities they were dirty and had shower/bath mats which i would never put my feet on.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lynne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews