We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best B&B in Whitby!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moon & Sixpence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Moon & Sixpence
Ranked #70 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best B&B in Whitby!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed here for an anniversary and the room did not disappoint. The rooms are full of style, spacious and clean.

The rooms are more like renting an appartment for a night, you have your own access and don't need to go via reception to enter your room.

The only minor I had was the bathroom door in our room was frosted glass which could be offputting for some.

Would happily return and recommend to other visitors.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suite4D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    27
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
7
108
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Stayed overnight in the suite HIGHLY RECOMMENDED ,the room has everything and more!! We had a meal in the restaurant on the night overlooking the sea,the food is excellent as is the service.This is a great little find in the heart of whitby..P.S The breakfast is also spot on,so go on treat yourself book a night or two ..Enjoy.

Room Tip: There are a few rooms ,we stayed in what is called the suite..fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stutomo631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

My wife and I stayed in Room 7 for 3 nights in late July. The accommodation was very good; the room was in the eaves accessed via a separate entrance from the Brasserie. The view across the harbour was excellent. Bring your earplugs though as seagulls roost right outside the Velux windows!
There are many pubs and eateries within easy working distance; some better than others! Cannot offer recommendations as taste differs.
You must take one of the very cost effective boat trips out into the North Sea!
For me, the best bit was the food and service in the M&S brasserie. Breakfast was particularly enjoyable on all 3 mornings, being freshly cooked to order.
You can't go far wrong staying here.
Any downsides? Parking! There is long-stay parking available in Whitby some 10-15 minutes walk from the M&S but the accommodation itself has no front access and limited rear access and the guidance provided by the website is limited at best about where to go, where to stop for bag-drop and where to park. It's not a major criticism but fixing this would make arrival a lot less hassle indeed.

Room Tip: Room 7 is on the top floor; you need to be happy to stair-climb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

I booked Room 6 for my partners birthday.
Theres no carpark, we parked over the bridge which we were fine with but had to figure this out by ourselves as the website failed to give this helpful information.
The room was very modern and clean and every bit the boutique room depicted on the website. However, the furnishings are tired, the juccuzzi had no kind of instructions, when we figured it out and turned the jets on it smelt foul and spat out dirty remnants, needless to say we did not get it, a major disappointment.
We couldn't sleep until the early hours when the banging music clearly heard from the bar was turned off, and to add further insult to injury were rudely awaken at 6:45am by scaffolders outside the windows laughing ans joking banging and drilling taking scaffolding down!
After a few hours sleep i attempted to have a shower which never got above luke warm, i had to jump in and out shivering!!
The breakfast was the only thing we couldnt complain about - it was gorgeous ( not that we knew what time it was served as we were never told or any information in the room about it!)
We were really looking forward to a bit of luxury but were left very deflated and feeling we could have spent £135 on something much more worth while, I've had more satisfying stays in premier inn's!!!
If you like unclean jacuzzis, cold showers, little information about the room and the place your staying and more importantly no sleep this place is for you!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giraffepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We stayed one night at the Moon & Sixpence
The room was great with a jacuzzi bath and a view of the harbour. The staff were all very helpful - the food was great as were the cocktails!
We will definately be returning and would recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Whitby.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheekymonkey1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.2 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.1 km away
Harry's Lounge Bar & Brasserie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.2 km away
Sanders Yard
Sanders Yard
#52 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.3 km away
The Endeavour
The Endeavour
#75 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moon & Sixpence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon & Sixpence

Property: Moon & Sixpence
Address: Marine Parade, Whitby YO21 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Moon & Sixpence Hotel Whitby
Moon And Sixpence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing