We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dillons of Whitby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dillons of Whitby
Ranked #6 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding place to stay”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We spent 2 nights at Dillons in the Manhattan room. We knew this was the smallest room in the house when we booked it and we found it to be fine for our stay. The bed was comfortable, there was enough space for us to have our luggage out and still move easily around the room and the decor is beautiful. This B&B is just a lovely place to be. The house is beautifully decorated and has a very peaceful, serene atmosphere. Craig and Matthew are absolutely brilliant hosts- great company and so helpful with suggestions for sites to visit. They make this fabulous B&B an absolute stand-out. The breakfasts are fantastic and another example of the attention to detail and quality that make this an outstanding place to stay.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Audrey83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattyBrown72, Owner at Dillons of Whitby, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Many thanks for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the facilities in Manhattan met your expectations. We have worked hard to ensure that facilities in all 5 guest rooms, from the largest to the smallest, are of the highest standard and maintained to exacting standards. For us the overall 'Dillons Experience' is of paramount importance and we are delighted that your breakfasts and the advice we could offer to ensure you got the most out of your visit hit the mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
565
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at Dillons in April 2012 in the Manhattan and Troon rooms. We had a brilliant stay Matthew and Craig were so accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. Also all the nice touches such as cake on arrival and fresh milk in the room makes this B&B a cut above the rest.
We can definitley reccommend Dillons if you are staying in Whitby
Jude, Manchester

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattyBrown72, Owner at Dillons of Whitby, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Many thanks for your review. It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Just stayed as a party of four for 2 nights in the Masi and Manhattan rooms.
Craig and and Mathew fully deserve all of the accolades on TD - these two guys clearly have a very natural talent for hospitality. Rooms were spotless; breakfast was hot and of excellent quality; location is perfect (10 mins from centre and a lovely spot opposite the park) the house is beautiful and tastefully decorated. Lovely touch with the welcoming cuppa and slice of cake. These standards of service and attention to detail that Craig and Mathew deliver set a very high benchmark that a lot of other establishements could only dream of. We'd definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteSea12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattyBrown72, Owner at Dillons of Whitby, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
What a wonderful review. Many thanks! Having stayed in a broad range of B & Bs across the globe we like to think we know what hits the mark taking on board the best of what the best have to offer. We work tirelessly at Dillons to ensure that the highest standards are maintained and that the experience of our guests is first class. We place considerable value on guests' feedback given to us through Trip Advisor and in person so that we can consistently deliver on expectations. Once again, thank you for your time in posting your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We have just had a 2 night stay in the Toulouse room. Craig and Matthew were excellent hosts, and we really felt well looked after. They have a fantastic knowledge of the area, walks, bars and restaurants. The bed was really comfortable, and bathroom luxurious. The TV had an inbuilt DVD player that Matthew lent us a copy of Dracula to watch! You do hear the main road, however it's impossible to avoid in such a small town. The hotel is only about 10 mins walk to the restaurants. In fact everything's within walking distance which was great. Having stayed in many hotels across the country, we were most impressed with the breakfast selection. There is a different special every morning, and being used to having our usual full english, we decided to branch out and try their vegetarian full english on one morning which was delicious (3 types of vegetarian sausages! we had the glamorgan sausages which were very tasty). The other breakfast I had the porridge with banana and raisins and my fiance had the kipper - we were both impressed! I would thoroughly recommend staying here, and we would happily return. Many thanks to Matthew and Craig for their great hospitality.
Vik & Izzy

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikram M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattyBrown72, Owner at Dillons of Whitby, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Thank you for your detailed and thoughful review. It was a delight having you stay with us and we are thrilled that you had a positive experience. As we say in our marketing materials, at Dillons breakfast is the most improtant meal of the day and we enjoy using fresh, locally sourced produce in both the regular menu and daily specials. Being walking distance to the multitude of great bars and eateries is a real bonus and one which the majority of guests really appreciate. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Dillons of Whitby in the future and once again, many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Had a 2 night stay with friends, so saw 2 rooms. Choice of rooms & decor - both superb with comfortable beds and everything you would need, although our two were a little too small to provide 2 comfortable chairs and one en-suite could have benefitted from a small shelf by the basin, but otherwise attention to detail superb. Great welcome and ongoing genuine concern to please us during our stay. Good choices for breakfast, superbly cooked and presented. No hesitation in recommending this B&B and would stay again.

Room Tip: Look at the accurate descriptions on the website - each has individual character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basil1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattyBrown72, Owner at Dillons of Whitby, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our two double rooms and found the whole 'Dillons Experience' to meet your expectations. We hope to be able to welcome you back at some point in the future - 3 more rooms to sample yet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.7 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,940 reviews
0.3 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
268 reviews
0.6 km away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 152 in Whitby
332 reviews
0.7 km away
Abbotsleigh
Abbotsleigh
#4 of 152 in Whitby
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dillons of Whitby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dillons of Whitby

Property: Dillons of Whitby
Address: 14 Chubb Hill Road, Whitby YO21 1JU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price range (per night): $112 - $214
Hotel Class:5 star — Dillons of Whitby 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dillons, Whitby's only 5 star accredited, Michelin recommended accommodation provider, is the perfect recipe for a successful 21st-century seaside B&B - contemporary elegance and modern convenience with a healthy dose of traditional warmth and hospitality. Overlooking beautiful Pannett Park with its delightful Art Gallery and Museum, Dillons has the added benefit of on-site parking for the majority of guests and secure on-site parking for motorbikes and cycles. A 5 minute walk brings you to the heart of our beautiful and historic seaside town with its mutitude of excellent eateries, bars, cafes and unique shops. As your hosts, Mathew and Craig, we are committed to making your stay memorable. Whether you’re simply looking for a few hassle-free days away, are on business in the area or celebrating a special occasion, we’re happy to chat to you about your individual requirements. Each of our five guest rooms has its own unique theme with decorating inspiration taken from around the globe. All rooms are well proportioned doubles or king size and have a flat-screen television with integrated DVD, an iPod docking station, free wireless internet access and a stylish en suite bathroom with white porcelain fixtures, travertine tiles, fluffy towels and bathrobes, and toiletries by Gilchrist & Soames. At Dillons our award winning breakfast is quite simply 'the most important meal of the day'. Whether you choose to sample the variety of fresh fruits, berries, nuts & seeds and cereals including our famous homemade granola from our buffet or a hot breakfast cooked to order from our menu, we endeavour to cater for your individual requirements catering for special dietary requirements as part of our service. Add to this our seasonal specialities and kippers from Fortunes of Whitby and we are confident that there will be something to tempt you. We take pride in our vegetarian options and source our foods locally where possible using only the freshest ingredients. A multitude of stand out reviews from our wonderful guests coupled with a host of media reviews and feature articles reassure us as owners that the attention to detail, high standards of housekeeping and warmth of hospitality will make your stay at Dillons truly memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dillons Of Whitby Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing