We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Marine Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Rowan Tree House B&B(Sleights)(Great Value!)
USD 93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
USD 103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
YHA Whitby(Whitby)(Great Value!)
USD 65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 92/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Plough Inn(Sleights)
USD 96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunsley Hall(Whitby)
USD 105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Ruswarp Hall(Ruswarp)
USD 118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 103
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
381
103
13
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
103
13
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood linguinemezzanine floorkedgereesteak and eggsno tea coffee facilitiessister hotelharbour frontsun roomworking harbourfishing boatssmall hotelsitting areahot drinksbeautiful roombooked a tablefull englishfantastic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2017

We have visited the Marine previously to have breakfast and got talking to the staff. When we saw they had some lovely rooms we decided next time we were going to Whitby we would book.

We wanted the balcony room, but sadly it had already been booked. however we were not disappointed, we had a beautiful and clean, spacious room which had great views. There was no kettle in the room but were told we could just order what we wanted and have it bought to the room (at no extra charge). The staff were lovely, super friendly and helpful.

The room not only had all the necessaries, but a spacious seating area and large bathroom.

We also had a delicious dinner, I really recommend the fish pie which my husband had (and I regretted not ordering). Staff were also accommodating as I did not want a whole lobster and was told I could have half for half the price. it was delicious.

Breakfast was delightful too, I had the Eggs Benedict, I enjoyed yoghurt compote along with some gorgeous muffins.

Looking forward to booking again.

Room Tip: There is a room with a spacious balcony
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AmofAmof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Stayed in The Marine for Sunday night for my husbands birthday. We booked room 2 which was a lovely room with mezzanine floor where the bedroom is. The room has a fab view of the harbour. It does seem quite expensive for one night but as it was for my husbands birthday and he loves Whitby I thought it was worth it. However a week before we went I discovered that the Marine had a special offer on for bookings made Sun-Thur in November which included a 2 course evening meal and it was also for retrospective bookings - so it actually was a good deal in the end. The food was delicious, we had king scallops and Lobster and avocado salad for starters and Shellfish linguine, which was overflowing with shellfish, and whole lemon sole for mains topped off with a couple of cocktails and glasses of wine. The bed in the room was oh so very comfortable, but unfortunately the windows haven't got the best glazing on the so it is quite noisy come the morning time and I can imagine in the summer when it gets light early that it would be even noisier but hey it's a working harbour and we did expect this so we took some ear plugs, which worked quite nicely. A small thing that would have been helpful would have been a couple of bedside tables with a bedside light and somewhere to put, phones, glasses, drinks etc as I had to scrabble about on the floor for all these during the course of the night. The full English breakfast next morning was delicious and served in a gorgeous dining room with very pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Room two has a lovely view of the Abbey and Harbour, but might be noisy if you're a light sleeper
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sue-JohnnyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

A small hotel right on waterside in the middle of a beautiful seaside town. We had a lovely comfortable room overlooking the harbour and could not have been happier with our stay. Friendly efficient service and the breakfasts were great too! Highly recommend the restaurant too, the fish and chips were the best ever.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Marine for two nights recently and it was lovely. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is so well located to explore Whitby. We had room 4 which was spacious and beautifully decorated with a very comfy bed. The only negatives were very small, there aren’t any decent lights in the room which makes putting makeup on in the evening a bit of a nightmare. Unfortunately the pillows are very flat on the bed, however, there are lots of cushions in the room which we used to plump up the pillows so it wasn’t really an issue for us. The only real issue is that there is no door on the bathroom which isn’t ideal since the toilet is literally right next to the entrance to the bathroom area. On the whole, although there are minor things that could be better the hotel is lovely and we would definitely stay again, but if in a room with a bathroom door! Also good to note is that the hotel provide a parking permit and we found ample parking within 5 mins walk and the hotel also provide breakfast included in the cost of the room in the form of a continental buffet and a hot food menu, we had kippers and an English breakfast and both were delicious but this wasn’t mentioned when we booked so was a pleasant surprise for us! Definitely would recommend a stay here.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kiyoko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

This company owns a restaurant, a bistro/bar and offers accommodation.
We tried all three.
Accommodation:
Massive room & massive bed. Recently refurbished. No door to the bathroom which may not appeal to some. A massive roll-top bath [that you could go sea-fishing in] but in the bedroom. Mortar joints between floor tiles in the bathroom, not waterproof so lifting & crumbling and - ouch on bare feet.
Remote control for TV didn't work - despite numerous attempts.
Bistro/Bar:
Quick & friendly service.
We had breakfast here.
All good.
Restaurant;
We had booked a table and were really looking forward to some famous Whitby fish cuisine - in particular crab.
We were told there was no crab.
So, for mains, we both ordered langoustines with side orders of a salad and some soda bread.
The order was taken.
However, shortly afterwards, the waitress came back and said there were no langoustines and no soda bread.
Still, we were deeply disappointed

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews