We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
403
107
14
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
107
14
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood linguine kedgeree mezzanine floor no tea coffee facilities sun room sister hotel harbour front working harbour balcony overlooking the harbour eggs benedict fishing boats small hotel beautiful room hot drinks booked a table full english bathroom door
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2017

Stayed in The Marine for Sunday night for my husbands birthday. We booked room 2 which was a lovely room with mezzanine floor where the bedroom is. The room has a fab view of the harbour. It does seem quite expensive for one night but as it was for my husbands birthday and he loves Whitby I thought it was worth it. However a week before we went I discovered that the Marine had a special offer on for bookings made Sun-Thur in November which included a 2 course evening meal and it was also for retrospective bookings - so it actually was a good deal in the end. The food was delicious, we had king scallops and Lobster and avocado salad for starters and Shellfish linguine, which was overflowing with shellfish, and whole lemon sole for mains topped off with a couple of cocktails and glasses of wine. The bed in the room was oh so very comfortable, but unfortunately the windows haven't got the best glazing on the so it is quite noisy come the morning time and I can imagine in the summer when it gets light early that it would be even noisier but hey it's a working harbour and we did expect this so we took some ear plugs, which worked quite nicely. A small thing that would have been helpful would have been a couple of bedside tables with a bedside light and somewhere to put, phones, glasses, drinks etc as I had to scrabble about on the floor for all these during the course of the night. The full English breakfast next morning was delicious and served in a gorgeous dining room with very pleasant staff.

Room tip: Room two has a lovely view of the Abbey and Harbour, but might be noisy if you're a light sleeper
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sue-JohnnyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

A small hotel right on waterside in the middle of a beautiful seaside town. We had a lovely comfortable room overlooking the harbour and could not have been happier with our stay. Friendly efficient service and the breakfasts were great too! Highly recommend the restaurant too, the fish and chips were the best ever.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Marine for two nights recently and it was lovely. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is so well located to explore Whitby. We had room 4 which was spacious and beautifully decorated with a very comfy bed. The only negatives were very small, there aren’t any decent lights in the room which makes putting makeup on in the evening a bit of a nightmare. Unfortunately the pillows are very flat on the bed, however, there are lots of cushions in the room which we used to plump up the pillows so it wasn’t really an issue for us. The only real issue is that there is no door on the bathroom which isn’t ideal since the toilet is literally right next to the entrance to the bathroom area. On the whole, although there are minor things that could be better the hotel is lovely and we would definitely stay again, but if in a room with a bathroom door! Also good to note is that the hotel provide a parking permit and we found ample parking within 5 mins walk and the hotel also provide breakfast included in the cost of the room in the form of a continental buffet and a hot food menu, we had kippers and an English breakfast and both were delicious but this wasn’t mentioned when we booked so was a pleasant surprise for us! Definitely would recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kiyoko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

This company owns a restaurant, a bistro/bar and offers accommodation.
We tried all three.
Accommodation:
Massive room & massive bed. Recently refurbished. No door to the bathroom which may not appeal to some. A massive roll-top bath [that you could go sea-fishing in] but in the bedroom. Mortar joints between floor tiles in the bathroom, not waterproof so lifting & crumbling and - ouch on bare feet.
Remote control for TV didn't work - despite numerous attempts.
Bistro/Bar:
Quick & friendly service.
We had breakfast here.
All good.
Restaurant;
We had booked a table and were really looking forward to some famous Whitby fish cuisine - in particular crab.
We were told there was no crab.
So, for mains, we both ordered langoustines with side orders of a salad and some soda bread.
The order was taken.
However, shortly afterwards, the waitress came back and said there were no langoustines and no soda bread.
Still, we were deeply disappointed

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

We booked on line for a 2 night stay at this hotel ....

When we arrived. At The Marine we walked in to a full restaurant we had a very large holdall a rucksack and also I carried an overnight style bag ..... only to be informed that we were booked into the sister hotel down the road .....6 shops away ...so off we trudged past the diners.... down the steps to the Moon & Sixpence ...given a-pass key etc
Our room was 5 flights up
We understood this - it was in the eaves
Very cosy and bright ....with excellent skylight windows and views around the harbour and to the abbey

It would be nice to be informed of the room arrangements as I could not see anything on the booking
Would avoid the embarrassment of going into The Marine in the first place

We would come back as it was a very nice room

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank choc56uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews