We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
395
105
14
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
105
14
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood linguine mezzanine floor kedgeree steak and eggs no tea coffee facilities sister hotel sun room harbour front working harbour fishing boats balcony overlooking the harbour small hotel hot drinks beautiful room booked a table full english fantastic hotel
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017

A small hotel right on waterside in the middle of a beautiful seaside town. We had a lovely comfortable room overlooking the harbour and could not have been happier with our stay. Friendly efficient service and the breakfasts were great too! Highly recommend the restaurant too, the fish and chips were the best ever.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the Marine for two nights recently and it was lovely. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel is so well located to explore Whitby. We had room 4 which was spacious and beautifully decorated with a very comfy bed. The only negatives were very small, there aren’t any decent lights in the room which makes putting makeup on in the evening a bit of a nightmare. Unfortunately the pillows are very flat on the bed, however, there are lots of cushions in the room which we used to plump up the pillows so it wasn’t really an issue for us. The only real issue is that there is no door on the bathroom which isn’t ideal since the toilet is literally right next to the entrance to the bathroom area. On the whole, although there are minor things that could be better the hotel is lovely and we would definitely stay again, but if in a room with a bathroom door! Also good to note is that the hotel provide a parking permit and we found ample parking within 5 mins walk and the hotel also provide breakfast included in the cost of the room in the form of a continental buffet and a hot food menu, we had kippers and an English breakfast and both were delicious but this wasn’t mentioned when we booked so was a pleasant surprise for us! Definitely would recommend a stay here.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kiyoko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

This company owns a restaurant, a bistro/bar and offers accommodation.
We tried all three.
Accommodation:
Massive room & massive bed. Recently refurbished. No door to the bathroom which may not appeal to some. A massive roll-top bath [that you could go sea-fishing in] but in the bedroom. Mortar joints between floor tiles in the bathroom, not waterproof so lifting & crumbling and - ouch on bare feet.
Remote control for TV didn't work - despite numerous attempts.
Bistro/Bar:
Quick & friendly service.
We had breakfast here.
All good.
Restaurant;
We had booked a table and were really looking forward to some famous Whitby fish cuisine - in particular crab.
We were told there was no crab.
So, for mains, we both ordered langoustines with side orders of a salad and some soda bread.
The order was taken.
However, shortly afterwards, the waitress came back and said there were no langoustines and no soda bread.
Still, we were deeply disappointed

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

We booked on line for a 2 night stay at this hotel ....

When we arrived. At The Marine we walked in to a full restaurant we had a very large holdall a rucksack and also I carried an overnight style bag ..... only to be informed that we were booked into the sister hotel down the road .....6 shops away ...so off we trudged past the diners.... down the steps to the Moon & Sixpence ...given a-pass key etc
Our room was 5 flights up
We understood this - it was in the eaves
Very cosy and bright ....with excellent skylight windows and views around the harbour and to the abbey

It would be nice to be informed of the room arrangements as I could not see anything on the booking
Would avoid the embarrassment of going into The Marine in the first place

We would come back as it was a very nice room

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank choc56uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

First time visitors to Whitby, and couldn't have chosen a nicer place in a prime location on the harbour front. The car parking arrangements were a little stressful, but once sorted it was fine. We stayed in room 2 for 2 nights and had an absolutely brilliant visit. The abbey bells take some getting used to and the seagulls can be a bit annoying, but it's the seaside....what do you expect!. The staff were polite and courteous at all times, and the full English breakfast is absolutely superb. The only thing I would change would be a kettle in the room to make hot drinks as and when you needed one, but everything apart from that was perfect and we will hopefully return here next year

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CreteCheesepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews