We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful family celebration in luxurious...”

Review of Hill House Norfolk

Welcome to Hill House Norfolk
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Hill House Norfolk
Hill House Norfolk Drawing Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
106 reviews
Welcome to Hill House Norfolk
Hill House Norfolk
Drawing Room
Dining room seats 16 to 18
En-suite bathroom
Kitchen
Designer furniture
Morning room with multimedia system
Games room with lots of toys
Bedroom 1
Four-poster bedroom
En-suite bedroom
Walk through shower/en-suite bedroom
www.hillhousenorfolk.com
Free use of leisure and golf club
Free use of leisure facilities at a local country club 5 mins away
Tennis court and the HH Kids Club
6 acres of gardens and grounds
Lots of catering options including fish and chips
Children's tea in the kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pauline m
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A wonderful family celebration in luxurious surroundings”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful week to celebrate my birthday with my family and grandchildren. The layout of the large house and extensive grounds made it just perfect for our purposes and ensured that there was plenty space to ensure privacy and then formal and informal gatherings as required. Outside caterers can be arranged to add more glamour. The beautiful grounds and house make a luxurious and tranquil setting.
We were all delighted beyond our expectations and look forward to another holiday there in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: extent and peaceful house and grounds and attention to details
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2013
Thank you for choosing us Pauline and we're really glad that you had a great time with all of the family. See you again soon...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelsar...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place will blow you away, absolutely perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We have just returned from a weekend at Hill House to celebrate my partners 40th birthday. We wanted something a bit special to mark the occasion and chose Hill House as it seemed to fit the bill. Well it was utterly perfect in every way. We had a few small children in our group and there was so much to keep them entertained and it was very child friendly, but at the same it didn't feel like a kids playground and was great for adults too with the games room, cinema room and very sophisticated dining room. Darren the owner could not have been more helpful. Everything was thought about right down to the last detail and nothing was too much hassle, we were even greeted with champagne and cupcakes! He made it so easy, even our tesco delivery was unpacked immaculately for us before we had even arrived. The place itself is stunning, everything is top quality, luxurious and extremely comfortable. The only bad bit was having to leave!!!
Many thanks Darren to you and your team,
Sarah
Ps We would definitely recommend the fish and chip man on a Friday night!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact it was perfect for a mixed group, both children and adults will love it here
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2013
Hi Sarah, Thanks again for coming and the review. We really do appreciate you taking the time. I will pass your comments onto the team and Bill (the fish and chip man) - a local legend !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EssexHarr...
Essex
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, luxury house and perfectly kitted out!”
Reviewed 3 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Hill House is in a league of it's own on the house rental front. The house and setting are stunning and it was perfect for a family getaway. Big enough to lose eachother at times, but cosy when it was needed. Although it was perfect with young, noisy, adventurous kids there wasn't any multi-coloured plastic in sight and it obviously hosts some amazing grown up parties too.

The linen and bedding was all crisp, white and perfect. Hotel bathrooms, funky art and Bose everywhere.

We were welcomed with champagne and cupcakes, and lots of other little goodies around the house for everyone. Popcorn and beanbags for the kids etc. If you're travelling with kids of any age, the games room is a winner.

It's unusual to find somewhere that feels luxurious without being pretentious or worrying about the kids wrecking everything. We had six under-tens with us and they were never bored.

Ben couldn't help us enough - cooks a great pizza. And you MUST have Yolanda's treatments. She's magical.

Honestly - couldn't fault it. And look forward to returning. I have never bothered before with writing reviews but this deserved a mention.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury linens and thoughtful extras for everyone in the family
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us Susy. It's really appreciated. We're so glad that we delivered for you all. All the best. Darren
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AimeeFull...
Upminster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome! Family friendly LUXURY Norfolk style - just amazing and so welcoming.”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed for my husbands 40th birthday with family, friends and our 2 boys (5yrs and 3yrs). Everyone had a brilliant time! We booked a private charter on the Norfolk broads via Hill House - the boat is simply stunning, the kids really enjoyed our 2 hour cruise and Steve the captain was really friendly. We also had a beautiful dinner at Hill House with Bespoke caterers - the staff were fantastic, the chef fabulous and the food just amazing - and before dinner we enjoyed the secret cocktail lounge and sampled a selection of lovely cocktails over canapes - a great way to start your evening. We enjoyed Saturday afternoon at the private members club just over the road, they have a great playground which our boys loved. Ben the house manager is very welcoming and always on call should you need anything. Can't recommend this venue highly enough, you will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house is stunning and the grounds are lovely to walk around
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Apr 2013
We're so glad that you had an amazing time and we really appreciate you writing a review. I'm glad that you enjoyed the boat and Bespoke at Hill House too. It was a pleasure to look after you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philco18
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Style and luxury in rural Norfolk - perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 14 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Our week at Hill House has been amazing, every room is furnished and decorated with great care and style, but still relaxed, warm and welcoming. We stayed with three groups of friends and family, cooking for ourselves and also using the Bespoke catering service. Cooking in the kitchen was a pleasure and the Bespoke evenings were wonderful -starting with canapés and cocktails and ending with superb desserts. The team at Hill House were excellent, organising golf at Dunston Hall for us and being on site to receive our shopping. We played croquet on the lawn and spent many happy evenings in the games room. Hill House exceeded all our expectations, it was a memorable week and we're already planning for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2013
Hi Phil - thanks again for choosing to stay at Hill House. It was a pleasure to look after you. The 3 Bespoke at Hill House evenings were great fun on our side too. Hope to see you next year......
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing