We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sorry - but we just don't understand all the good reviews ?” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tea House

The Tea House
Ranked #3 of 63 Coffee & Tea in Norwich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 2 - USD 8
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating
Description: The Tea house, now under new ownership with a fresh decor offers a larger range of gluten and dairy free products as well as Traditional Cream tea! With over 30 loose leaf teas to choose from you'll always find something to suit you. We also offer Breakfast, brunch, lunch, cake and of course coffee! Never be too shy to ask for skimmed milk or of course soya! We serve food until 5pm Come in and see where Merry Berry sat when Filming Who Do you Think You Are
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Sorry - but we just don't understand all the good reviews ?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We have visited this tea shop twice now on the back of TA reviews and we just don't understand why it keeps getting good reviews - is there a owner led campaign one thinks ?
Very small, and off the beaten track of Norwich you will find this cafe. Limited menu and lacking in atmosphere - you will find a luke warm welcome from the two men that run it. The one toilet is very small and old but adequate for the limited numbers off people that can sit on the hard chairs within.
We are struggling to find anything good to say about it hence our suspicion !

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank geocachegang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Man_Chump, Owner at The Tea House, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
I'm very sorry that you haven't enjoyed your stops at The Tea House, and that the reception given was luke warm, If it was I do appologise. We try our hardest to be as welcoming as possible.
As you pointed out we are very hidden away and rely on Trip advisor and other forms of good press and word of mouth to attract people to us, but please be assured that we don't have a campaign or ask people to review us other than the two signs on site saying that we are on trip advisor.
We don't have much cooking equipment on site so we bake all of our home made cakes from our respective homes and bring them in. This does restrict what we can serve on site, but we like to think that we offer good quality and value with home made cakes or freshly made sandwiches, potatoes and soup.
It's a shame that you didn't enjoy your stay, and I knew at some point someone would not enjoy their stay here and leave a poor review, but sadly no business can please evryone all the time.
Thank you for your feedback, we will try and improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    41
    6
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Made to feel at home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

From the outside this Tea House looks a little more like a Cafe than a Tea House, However, make sure you go across the threshold because once inside you will find a wondeful choice of 1, Teas, 2 ,Cake/Pastries, 3, Savoury options, that are all beautifully prepared.
We ate in the front 'cafe' like section and did not go to the garden area as it was a February day. However even here I enjoyed browsing a book from the bookshelf whilst waiting for my choices to be cooked.
Value for money excellent. Service friendly, food delightful.
Right next to the Riverside walk if you are a tourist wandering this suggested route.
Near a car park [200 yards]

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank QuiteHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Man_Chump, Owner at The Tea House, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Thank you for reviewing us on trip advisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stop in Norwich and I hope you will be able to pop back when the weather is warmer and you could enjoy the garden without being really cold. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great little cafe with friendly staff and amazing tea.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

We came here for lunch whilst having a day wandering around Norwich and were very glad we did. The ham sandwich was delicious, and on lovely fresh granary bread. My almond tea was a real discovery and I took some home with me along with some Japanese cherry sencha tea which was recommended by the very friendly chaps who were running the place. The prices were reasonable and it was very nice to see a place that has a personal touch. We will be back to try the delicious looking cakes.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaptainHadd0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Man_Chump, Owner at The Tea House, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip advisor, and the kind words in your review. Iwe look forward to you returning soon for some different teas and cake.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doon Sooth, Norwich
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I went here with my Mum today as it was so highly recommended by this site. We were delighted with our choice. We both had a sandwich... Hmm.. Good job we were hungry! They were delicious (we had different versions of ham) and HUGE!! Despite being rather full afterwards we could not resist the tempting cakes and had a piece each. (The decision as to which to choose was very hard!!) My carrot cake was lovely and my (very little) Mum envoyed the apple & cinnamon cake!!! I believe her coffee was good too and my tea was perfect. We will definately be back for our next months' day out together. I think perhaps the soup next time! LOVELY! Thank you.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Man_Chump, Owner at The Tea House, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, It was great to meet you yesterday. I'm glad you enjoyed your stop and look forward to seeing you again when in our part of town again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Fabulous carrot cake, gorgeous coffee and Hot chocolate. Tucked away and gorgeous settingFelt a bit chilly inside though so had to keep my coat on.Service is tip top, warm and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Greengerkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Man_Chump, Owner at The Tea House, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us here on trip advisor. We appreciate your kind words. I'm sorry you felt a little cold. At this time of year it is quite hard to get the temperature in the building perfect as it fluctuates a lot depending on how manypeople are in during your visit and how often the doors are opened. I hope you will visit us again when in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tea House also viewed

 

Been to The Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing