We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
35
9
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lounge area one night stay not hesitate to stay here again attending a wedding great hosts short drive biscuits lotus snetterton norfolk accommodation breakfast pubs fridge
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We booked Old Thorn Barn on several recommendations from within the Lotus community, and were very happy with our choice. It is the nearest accommodation to the Lotus factory, where we had booked a factory tour. The booking process, through their own website, was simple, and responses were quick and helpful. Danny and Carol were great hosts, very friendly and welcoming, but also respecting our privacy. The accommodation, in a small outbuilding, was excellent. Very clean and comfortable, although we found the memory foam mattress a little soft for our taste. A good selection of tea, coffee, and biscuits was available in the room, and we also had access to a small communal kitchen with a microwave and fridge - useful for snacks and keeping the wine chilled! A small patio area was also available, ideal for relaxing in the evening with a glass of wine. We also made friends with a 20 year old furry local feline - Splodge the cat!

Breakfast is cooked to order, and is superb. The locally made sausages are to die for!

There are two good pubs nearby serving evening meals, The World's End and the Bird in Hand (our favourite). Both are a short drive / taxi ride away; a little too far to walk and Norfolk country roads don't have pavements...

We wouldn't hesitate to return in the future, and highly recommend the Old Thorn Barn.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barker001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2017 via mobile

A lovely place in the country side. Room is very large, clean and comfortable with private garden. Friendly staff. Large car parking. Nearest place to Lotus factory. Great traditiol English breakfast. Recommended!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Flavio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I can't recommend 'Old Thorn Barn' enough. Danny (the owner) is welcoming and friendly and the staff are likewise - big thanks to Julie for her infectious enthusiasm too !

The rooms are lovely and the ambience is peaceful and mellow. Lots of Lotus related memorabilia which is good as so close to Hethel.

The breakfasts are magnificent too. Superb value and a huge recommend on every level.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoRossi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Stayed here with my boyfriend for one night when attending a wedding at Kimberly Hall in Wymondham. Booking was quick and straightforward, finding the place was easy to find and the room had everything we needed. Plenty of parking on site, and you get a massive, tasty full english breakfast included in the price. wifi worked very well which is useful in norfolk where the signal is rubbish!!! Our only gripe was that the shower pressure was awful so the shower wasn't great but could be easily fixed.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We attended a wedding nearby and this B and B was ideally situated to the venue. Beautiful from the outside and equally beautiful from the inside. The room was cosy and well equipped. Very friendly host and staff and an excellent breakfast was served each morning. I wouldn't mind staying there in winter to enjoy the lovely lounge.
Personal drawback was the shower above the bath. But that has no impact on the overall, very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bibibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews