We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect on every level”
Review of Old Thorn Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norwich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Thorn Barn
Ranked #33 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I can't recommend 'Old Thorn Barn' enough. Danny (the owner) is welcoming and friendly and the staff are likewise - big thanks to Julie for her infectious enthusiasm too !

The rooms are lovely and the ambience is peaceful and mellow. Lots of Lotus related memorabilia which is good as so close to Hethel.

The breakfasts are magnificent too. Superb value and a huge recommend on every level.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcoRossi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2016

Stayed here with my boyfriend for one night when attending a wedding at Kimberly Hall in Wymondham. Booking was quick and straightforward, finding the place was easy to find and the room had everything we needed. Plenty of parking on site, and you get a massive, tasty full english breakfast included in the price. wifi worked very well which is useful in norfolk where the signal is rubbish!!! Our only gripe was that the shower pressure was awful so the shower wasn't great but could be easily fixed.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

We attended a wedding nearby and this B and B was ideally situated to the venue. Beautiful from the outside and equally beautiful from the inside. The room was cosy and well equipped. Very friendly host and staff and an excellent breakfast was served each morning. I wouldn't mind staying there in winter to enjoy the lovely lounge.
Personal drawback was the shower above the bath. But that has no impact on the overall, very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bibibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Fantastic accommodation, very comfortable, clean and beautifully furnished. I used to work as a Rep around Norfolk and regularly used Old Thorn Barn as my base for business purposes. Always looked after by the warm and caring owner, various breakfast options, cooked etc, always to a high standard. Has great facilities such as WIFI etc and off-street parking. I can't wait to return here with family for leisure purposes as a base for visiting Norwich and Yarmouth etc. Highly recommended and great value when compared with other nearby accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomFromNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Large room and functional en suite in a courtyard setting. Breakfast in the main building a short dash away, was really good with a large selection of choices. The Lotus factory is about half a mile away if that's what your there for otherwise a car required to visit Norwich about 6 miles away. Clean and tidy overall, again a good base to tour the local area with some nice little villages nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
4 km away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,228 reviews
15.3 km away
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadlands/A47) Hotel
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadl...
#1 of 1 in Thorpe St Andrew
732 reviews
16.3 km away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
233 reviews
31.8 km away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
11.4 km away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thorn Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thorn Barn

Address: Old Thorn Barn Wymondham Road | Hethel, Norwich NR14 8EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range: $48 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorn Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Thorn Barn offers a warm welcome, to this Seventeenth-century barn which over looks beautiful Norfolk Countryside. The barn has been carefully restored to retain all its original features. The bedrooms are all cosily furnished and have private facilities. Breakfast is served in the long barn where a wood burning stove and a lounge area combine with the dining room to form a casual and relaxing atmosphere. In the summer a stoned courtyard (off the lounge) with tables and chairs will be available for guests and friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing