We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat”
Review of Old Thorn Barn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Norwich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Thorn Barn
Ranked #34 of 80 Norwich B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 February 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting family close by. Large hotels could learn some lessons from this very comfortable establishment. We arrived and were warmly greeted and offered a pot of fresh coffee in a very comfortable, bright and cosy warm sitting room. Our room was very comfortable, clean and had everything we needed. The lighting was excellent and there were enough sockets to cope with hair dryers and straighteners! That is quite unusual and something that makes a stay Way from home extra comfortable. We would not hesitate to stay here again. The breakfast is fantastic. Excellent value and warm welcoming hosts. Thank you for a lovely break.

Room Tip: I imagine th rooms are all quite similar but we had no 1 and it was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelaMC009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2014 via mobile

A 2 night stay while at Snetterton truck race weekend. Made to feel very welcome, nice room and great breakfast. Nice to be able to have the use of a fridge for our pack up. Would stay here again when we are up this way again.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank jaw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I've stayed here quite a few times over the past few years. On each and every occasion I have always found it to be the same. The rooms are scrupulously clean, and the breakfast is outstanding.. The owners are very accommodating - I frequently have to have an early breakfast due to an early start and it is never a problem.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This really is a wonderful place to stay! Very welcoming host and the rooms are really comfortable and attractive – but bring your own hair dryer if you have anything more than a ‘short’ hair cut. The breakfast is superb – no rubbery scrambled eggs or cheap bacon and sausages here! Just a short drive from Norwich and great accessibility to many of Norfolk’s attractions. If you are looking for comfort and good service this will fit the bill! A++

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purpletoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Was recommended this B&B by friends that we were visiting in nearby Mulbarton, and was really impressed.
Only minor downpoint was the way we were greeted when we arrived - we couldn't find the reception so ended up at the back of the property which turned out to be the private residence. The owner seemed very annoyed and was adamant that there was a huge sign as you drive in directing us to reception (neither myself nor my friend spotted it after a 4 hour drive), however, this was literally the only slight negative to our entire visit.
We stayed for one night, and our twin room was beautiful. Spotless and really nicely decorated, and beautifully warm!! I do love to be warm and it was toasty. The bed linen smelled gorgeous and the bathroom was also spotless and well appointed.
It seems that everything has been thought of here - tea facilities were great (great biscuits!!) and even a clothes brush and shoe shine on the window ledge.
There was a fantastic welcome book with lots of information - although the reviews of local eateries were very old (2002) and could do with being updated if they are to be considered truly helpful.
Breakfast was truly fantastic with masses of choice (even down to 5 or 6 jam choices) and even decaff filter coffee. All the produce was quality (Del Monte juices) and the serving staff were cheerful, quick and really lovely.
I think my only tiny morning downer was that staff were hoovering at 8am!!! I do like a little sleep in the mornings and was a bit disappointed that this couldn't have waited until we were all up and breakfasted but seriously a very minor point.

This was a beautiful place, very very clean, very well thought out, with everything you could think of needing away from home. I would DEFINITELY stay again and would be very happy to recommend it to others. Thank you for a lovely overnight stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyPoledancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Norwich hotels
18.7 km away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crostwick
230 reviews
4 km away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
1,207 reviews
16.3 km away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Barnham Broom
Barnham Broom
#1 of 1 in Barnham Broom
931 reviews
15.3 km away
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadlands/A47) Hotel
Premier Inn Norwich East (Broadl...
#1 of 1 in Thorpe St Andrew
727 reviews
31.8 km away
The White House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thorn Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thorn Barn

Address: Old Thorn Barn Wymondham Road | Hethel, Norwich NR14 8EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Norwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Norwich
Price Range: $48 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorn Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Thorn Barn offers a warm welcome, to this Seventeenth-century barn which over looks beautiful Norfolk Countryside. The barn has been carefully restored to retain all its original features. The bedrooms are all cosily furnished and have private facilities. Breakfast is served in the long barn where a wood burning stove and a lounge area combine with the dining room to form a casual and relaxing atmosphere. In the summer a stoned courtyard (off the lounge) with tables and chairs will be available for guests and friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing