We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place !”
other travellers have booked this property
A private boathouse beside the river in Norwich.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A private boathouse beside the river in Norwich.
French doors opening to a spectacular view, beside the river in Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
A private boathouse beside the river in Norwich.
French doors opening to a spectacular view, beside the river in Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich
The Boathouse faces South.
Glorious interiors.
Solid wood handmade kitchen.
Fridge, full oven, dishwasher and microwave all in situ.
Full Size Double Bed, sprung mattress with memory foam. Egyptian cotton; feather duvet and pillows.
Chesterfield looking onto wall mounted tv with Netflix, YouTube & Terrestrial TV.
A summer or winter destination. Cozy interiors with wardrobe.
Elegant wet room, underfloor heating,  and electric towel rail. Toiletries and Towels provided.
Electric Shower, basin and toilet.
The view to Thorpe Island opposite The Boathouse.
Facing South on to The River Yare, Norwich
Private Mooring with large outside decking, table and chairs plus sun loungers provided. BBQ.
Brick construction, underfloor thermostatic heating throughout. Fully alarmed with security lighting
View down the river.
Private parking for one car inside electric gates.
Situated on Yarmouth Rd, Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich.
The River Green next to The Boathouse in Thorpe St Andrew, Norwich. Pubs and cafe on the Rivergreen.
Whitlingham, accessible by boat , bike or car.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Norwich, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Road79990...
1 review
“Fantastic place !”
Reviewed 18 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Fantastic place to stay, can’t recommend it highly enough ! Already trying to find available dates to book again !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine S
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Stunning riverside idyll”
Reviewed 13 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Where to start when reviewing this fantastic totally idyllic find.
The boathouse itself has been designed to perfection by owner Amanda with everything you could possibly require. It is tastefully decorated and exudes quality.
Amanda is there to meet guests and is the most welcoming host providing the most extensive of complementary welcome gifts I have ever seen, including wine, tea, coffee, bacon, eggs, cheese, biscuits, butter, milk. The list goes on and it was much appreciated. Oh, I nearly forgot, two bottles of cold lager and the glasses were chilling for us in the fridge. Amanda really does go above and beyond to provide guests with a haven of perfection. Thanks Amanda xx.
The location is perfect for those who love being near and on the water. Located on the edge of the river Yar it is ideal for launching canoes, paddle boards etc. It is also within walking distance of several pubs and restaurants and also Norwich city centre.
We will definalety return for another visit and would highly recommend to anyone reading this review.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wendy1a
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our holiday”
Reviewed 28 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Can’t recommend the boat house enough when we arrived we were met by owner Amanda who talk us though the amenities and where everything was,Amanda had supplied everything from milk bread coffee eggs bacon and cheese, also shampoos shower gel we made new friends with the ducks and saw a kingfisher, the boat house is decorated beautifully, we’ll definitely be going back , thank you so much Amanda got a lovely holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VoyagerAn...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 8 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We stayed in mid-August and felt welcome long before we arrived. It was cosy and clean, and incredibly relaxing. There were lots of things to look at on the river, a few rowing boats, the occasional small day boat, and plenty of wildlife including swans, geese, and a kingfisher or two. It was perfect to sit out on the decking, drinking wine, and watching the river life pass by.
We enjoyed being just walking distance from good pubs and a cafe, in the village, and a nature reserve just beyond. Thank you Amanda.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken H
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“An Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 2 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

The reason we generally mark TripAdvisor reports up to 'very good' is so that when we come across locations like The Boathouse we can use the 'Excellent' mark and really really mean it. Amanda and Adam are the most perfect hosts and have created a wonderful bolthole away from the rush of everyday life. There's room for one car inside the automatic gates or more parking in the layby opposite.

Located on the river with its own little mooring The Boathouse is beautifully furnished and comes with every convenience. When we arrived there were a few items in the fridge and Amanda was soon on hand to welcome us.

If you are in to water sports do take your kayak or canoe - this is an ideal location to launch from and your boats are safe if you decide to go out for the day.

We cannot recommend this location more highly and hope all visitors have the amazing time we did.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing