We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
104
197
207
137
172
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
197
207
137
172
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities national holidays gym and swimming pool would stay again weekend break couldn't fault tea coffee full english excellent value for money breakfast was excellent disco
Filter
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 817 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed here last night. Check in and menu selection were smooth and fast. Room basic but clean and warm. Food and service excellent. Wedding party going on but this didn't disturb us. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and staff very pleasant.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Griffclap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean L, General Manager at Middlesbrough Hotel - Sporting Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016

Dear Griff

Thank you for your recent review of your stay i will pass on your comments to all the team.

We do offer a range of food in our restaurant and for coaches always have a three course meal with three choices for guests.

I do hope you would visit us again should you be in the Teesside area

Kind regards

Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

Visited the Sporting Lodge for our Sunday Lunch a few weeks ago. We were one of the first ones in. The service was very good, the waiting staff were attentive. Drinks were brought quickly, the table was checked and we were offered desserts after our meals.

Carvery was lovely. Plenty to choose from and everything was piping hot. I had the gammon and turkey, both nice and my dad had the beef which he said was very nice too! Thoroughly enjoyed my Sunday lunch here. Couldn't fault the service/ quality for the price we paid!

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank tomato007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

The room was clean and functional and quiet! The reception area is a little dingy as is the restaurant. The need for a refit in there is self evident. Staff were friendly and the breakfast good. Value for money but well out of town.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dgsw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Interesting place. Village location, set in own grounds. Facilities included large indoor swimming pool and gymnasium (but did not partake). We were only there for one night but would not hesitate in recommending this hotel. The place was very clean, the staff were friendly and very helpful. Food was basic but good (3 courses plus coffee) at dinner and the breakfast was excellent with lots of choices. Bedrooms very clean, all
facilities were also very clean. No complaints at all and the hotel seemed very well attended with a wedding party in situ also.

Room Tip: Only two floors
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

Cheap and cheerful , bed was awful partner has a bad neck and back from the two nights we stayed there ,had the weekend leisure break for £120 ,evening meal in the restaurant was really good , slept in due to not having a very good nights sleep as the bed was terrible and there was a wedding going on till half one in the morning we woke up to a loud bang on the door telling us in an angry manor we had to be out at 11 at this point we grabbed our belongings as fast as we could to get out of the room all in all not bad but hopefully next time if we decide we go again hopefully we get a decent bed to sleep in

Stayed: June 2016
1  Thank rosssam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews