We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner spot before a show”

Smith & Wollensky UK
Ranked #954 of 25,578 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 19 - USD 126
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Description: Smith & Wollensky London is located in the historic Grade II-listed Adelphi Building off the Strand. As the boutique steakhouse's first opening outside of the US, with locations in cities such as New York and Miami, Londoners can expect the restaurant's same brand of warm American hospitality that has made it much-loved Stateside together with a menu of signature USDA Prime dry-aged steaks alongside Scottish cuts, premium seafood, award-winning wines and classic cocktails.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived early before our play nearby and had an amazing dinner. The meat and salads were delicious and the staff helpful and friendly. Note; there is a downstairs and upstairs. I feel the bar experience is more fun downstairs and the dining is good either upstairs or down. Try the Tomahawk steak since it is huge!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank chris92009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 127 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Two friends and I visited for a mid week lunch. The restaurant is nice enough; large, spacious and well laid out. It did feel a little lacking in atmosphere, though this may simply have been because it was quiet.

The menu is exactly as you’d expect for an American steak restaurant with a good selection. We all ordered steak; the food took a long time to come which was a disappointment given how quiet the restaurant was. The food was all perfectly fine but it was only fine, not special and not good enough to warrant the price even in this part of London.

Ultimately there is a great deal of choice in this part of town and this restaurant doesn’t deliver the requisite value to warrant another visit.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Jex_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Renowned for steak I chose to have fish and it was delicious.
The chilli and garlic prawns were just amazing! The steamed Lemon Sole was light but hearty. I walked out pretty full (satisfied).
The restaurant is nicely decorated and the artwork was definitely eye-catching.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

I have titled this as a pre theatre meal , but in fact it was a meal that was had after our theatre show. First impression very classy from the outside when inside the restaurant the same view. Staff very frenidly , as the meal was part of a theatre show / meal deal we had a set menu. This was a glass of champagne and a starter and main meal. Choice of food was fine, and when the food arrived, it was of good quality. As it was a set theatre two course meal , dessert and if you wanted wine this was an additional cost which was fine. As myself and my wife had the set meal and not eating of the main menu we did not feel at any time we were being rushed because it was a cheap option menu ( if their is such a thing as cheap in London. Overall experience very good but London prices must be think of a number a double it.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

I've run a couple of business lunches here, and while the food is good and the ambience great, it is seriously over-priced. the location is great if you're looking to meet people near charing cross or covent garden and the set-up is great for a relaxed but relatively private work discussion. but oh my do you pay for it. and service is pretty slow. we went as a group of 10 for a working lunch, main courses only, and the whole thing took over an hour and a half. feels like a restaurant that hasnt quite worked out what its for.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smith & Wollensky UK also viewed

 

Been to Smith & Wollensky UK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing